Bryan brothers become most prolific Grand Slam doubles champions ever
Zeenews logo
 Follow Me on Pinterest Google Plus Ditto RSS Mail to us Mail to us
Friday, August 08, 2014 

Bryan brothers become most prolific Grand Slam doubles champions ever

Last Updated: Sunday, January 27, 2013, 12:09
  Comments 0  
Bryan brothers become most prolific Grand Slam doubles champions everSydney: American Bob and Mike Bryan have created history as they became the most successful doubles champions in Grand Slam history after beating Dutchmen Robin Haase and Igor Sijsling 6-3 6-4 in Saturday night`s Australian Open final to claim the title for the sixth time and their 13th major as a duo, leaving the pair of John Newcombe and Tony Roche in second place on 12.

Australians Todd Woodbridge and Mark Woodforde, hold third spot on 11.

However, the record for the most Australian Open doubles trophies still remains in Australian hands, at least for now, as John Bromwich and Adrian Quist won eight between 1938-50, a sequence interrupted only when the tournament wasn``t played from 1941-45 during World War Two, the paper said.

The 34-year old twins, Bryan brothers lost last year`s Oz Open final but were always heavily favoured against opponents who`d won just one match together previously, in 2007.

The win at Oz Open continues Bryan brothers’ record of having won at least one major per year from 2005.

Mike Bryan said beating Newcombe and Roche`s record was special to them, adding they weren’t really looking towards it but they now feel it’s a big achievement for them.


For Zee News’s Updates, follow us on Twitter , Facebook, Google+, Pinterest

First Published: Sunday, January 27, 2013, 12:04



Post your Comments

Place :
Email :
Comments :

Most liked Comments

Rank Player
1 Rafael Nadal (ESP)
2 Novak Djokovic (SRB)
3 Stanislas Wawrinka (SUI)
4 Roger Federer (SUI)
5 Andy Murray (GBR)
6 Tomas Berdych (CZE)
7 David Ferrer (ESP)
8 Del Potro, Juan Martin (ARG)
9 Milos Raonic (CAN)
10 Ernests Gulbis
Rank Player
1 Serena Williams (USA)
2 Li Na (CHN)
3 Agnieszka Radwanska (POL)
4 Simona Halep (ROU)
5 Victoria Azarenka (BLR)
6 Petra Kvitova (CZE)
7 Jelena Jankovic (SRB)
8 Jelena Jankovic (SRB)
9 Angelique Kerber (GER)
10 Dominika Cibulkova (SVK)
Copyright © Zee Media Corporation Ltd . All rights reserved