Australian Open : Trivia
Zeenews logo
 Follow Me on Pinterest Google Plus Ditto RSS Mail to us Mail to us
Friday, August 08, 2014 
Which city hosts the Australian Open?
Melbourne, the capital of the state of Victoria, hosts the annual event.
Who won the men’s doubles title of the 2012 Australian Open?
Leander Paes and Radek Štepánek won the 2012 men`s doubles title by defeating Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan.
How long the epic final of the men’s 2012 singles event lasted?
Novak DJokovic defeated Rafael Nadal in 5 hours and 53 minutes in the final of the 2012 Australian Open men’s singles event.
Why was Petr Korda banned from playing Tennis for a year?
Former tennis player Petr Korda of Czech Republic won the 1998 Australian Open. Later that year, he was tested positive for a banned substance following which he was banned from playing competitive tennis for 12 monthsin 1999.
Name the player who ended Monica Seles` 33-match unbeaten run at the Australian Open?
Martina Hingis defeated Monica Seles in the quarterfinals of the 1999 Australian Open to end her 33-match unbeaten career run at the tournament.
Name the two players involved in the longest women’s match played in Grand Slam history.
In 2011 Australian Open, Francesca Schiavone and Svetlana Kuznetsova contested for 4 hours, 44 minutes
Who is the oldest player to win men’s singles event?
Ken Rosewall defeated Mal Anderson in 1972 to become the oldest Australian Open men`s singles champion. He was 37 years and 2 months old.
How much money will the winner of singles event in 2013 Australian Open pocket?
The winner of the 2013 Australian Open will pocket $2,300,000 (Australian Dollars).
Page 1 of 2
First Prev 1 2 Next Last 
Rank Player
1 Rafael Nadal (ESP)
2 Novak Djokovic (SRB)
3 Stanislas Wawrinka (SUI)
4 Roger Federer (SUI)
5 Andy Murray (GBR)
6 Tomas Berdych (CZE)
7 David Ferrer (ESP)
8 Del Potro, Juan Martin (ARG)
9 Milos Raonic (CAN)
10 Ernests Gulbis
Rank Player
1 Serena Williams (USA)
2 Li Na (CHN)
3 Agnieszka Radwanska (POL)
4 Simona Halep (ROU)
5 Victoria Azarenka (BLR)
6 Petra Kvitova (CZE)
7 Jelena Jankovic (SRB)
8 Jelena Jankovic (SRB)
9 Angelique Kerber (GER)
10 Dominika Cibulkova (SVK)
Copyright © Zee Media Corporation Ltd . All rights reserved