This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Singapore to host WTA Championships from 2014

Last Updated: Wednesday, May 8, 2013 - 16:15

Singapore: Singapore beat Tianjin in China and Monterrey in Mexico to be named as host for the year-ending Women`s Tennis Association Championships for the next five years.

The city state will stage the year-end final from 2014 with a record purse of USD 6.5 million.

The season-ending event features the top eight women`s tennis players and from next year, the eight leading women`s doubles pairs too. It will be the Asia-Pacific region`s second biggest tennis tournament after the Australian Open Grand Slam.

The 2013 event will be held in Istanbul, Turkey.


First Published: Wednesday, May 8, 2013 - 16:17

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus