Tennis: India’s Davis Cup schedule announced

Zeenews Bureau

New Delhi: The Davis Cup 2010 schedule for India’s tough draw against Brazil was announced on Thursday. Below is the full schedule:

Rubber 1

Rohan Bopanna (IND) V Thomaz Bellucci (BRA)

Rubber 2

Somdev Devvarman (IND) V Ricardo Mello (BRA)

Rubber 3

Mahesh Bhupathi / Leander Paes (IND) V Marcelo Melo / Bruno Soares (BRA)

Rubber 4

Somdev Devvarman (IND) V Thomaz Bellucci (BRA)

Rubber 5

Rohan Bopanna (IND) V Ricardo Mello (BRA)

India are banking on home advantage, heat and Rohan Bopanna`s rising confidence to defeat higher-ranked Brazil this week for a place in next year`s Davis Cup World Group.

India were forced into the play-off tie, starting at the Nungambakkam Tennis Stadium in Chennai on Friday, after losing to Russia in the first round of World Group in Moscow in March.

Brazil, who have lost four consecutive play-off ties since 2006, hope to turn the tide and return to the elite 16-nation competition for the first time since 2003.

The draw will be held on Thursday with the opening singles on Friday, the doubles on Saturday and the reverse singles on Sunday.