This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Tennis: Seeded players take a beating

Bangalore: It was a day of upsets in the RT Narayan Memorial Cup AITA Under-16 National Series tennis championship here Wednesday with seeded players taking a beating.

In the boys singles pre-quarterfinals, third seed Parikshitt Somani of Assam and fourth seed Yash Yadav of Madhya Pradesh made their exit.

Vignesh Subamaniam of Karnataka prevailed over Yadav 6-1, 4-6, 6-2 and later, Rian D Pandole, who is seeded No.9, knocked out Somani 7-5, 2-6, 6-4.

It was however good day for Karnataka trio of Adil Kalyanpur, BR Niksehp and Rishi Reddy. Wild card Kalyanpur, who trailed 2-4 in the first set, rallied to beat Uttkarsh Bharadjwaj of Uttrakhanad at 7-6 (4), 6-1, while top seed Niksehp, the National Under-16 champion,breezed past P Siddarth of AP 6-0, 6-1 and Reddy beat Siddarth Basnet 6-3, 6-2.

In the girls pre-quarterfinals, three seeds were shown the door. Prinkle Singh of Jammu and Kashmir, stunned the third seed, Sama Sathvika of AP 6-3, 7-6(6) while Ruthvik Shah of Gujarat accounted for the fourth seed Sai Avanthika of Tamil Nadu 6-4, 1-6, 6-2.

The fifth Harsha Sai Challa of AP also bowed out, losing to Sabhyata Nihalani of Delhi at 6-4, 5-7, 3-6.

The results (pre-quarterfinals):

Boys singles: BR.Nikshep (Kar) bt P Siddarth (AP) 6-0, 6-1; Adil Kalyanpur (Kar) bt Uttkarsh Baradwaj (Utrk) 7-6 (4), 6-1; S Vignesh (Kar) bt Yash Yadav (MP) 6-1, 4-6, 6-2; Dhruv Sunish (Mah ) bt Ishaq Eqbal (WB) 3-6, 6-4, 6-3; Rian D Pandole (Mah) bt Parikshit Somani (Asm) 7-5, 2-6, 6-4; Rishi Reddy (Kar) bt B Siddarth 6-3, 6-2; PC Anirudh (AP) bt Taquddin Mohammed (AP ) 4-6, 7-5, 6-3; Sanil Jagitini (WB) bt Sumitpal Singh (JK) 6-7 (4), 6-3, 6-3.

Girls singles: S Soha (Kar) bt Dharana Mudaliar (AP) 2-6, 6-1, 6-3; Prinkle Singh (JK) bt Sama Sathvika (AP) 6-3, 7-6 (6); Rutvik Shah (Guj) bt Sai Avanthika (TN) 6-4, 1-6, 6-2; Shivani Swarup Ingle (Mah) bt Rashmika Rajan (Kar) 6-2, 6-4; R Abinnka (TN) bt Rishika Ravi (TN) 6-3, 6-2; Sabhyata Nihalani (Del) bt Harsha Sai Challa (AP) 4-6, 7-5, 6-3; Snehal Mane (Mah) bt Lathika Premkumar (TN) 6-3, 6-2. Vaidehii Chaudhry (Guj) bt CS Praneetha (TN) 6-4, 6-7 (7), 6-1.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions