Assembly Election Results 2017

Title for Suresh, Kyra at the National Grasscourt Meet

Updated: Mar 05, 2011, 20:03 PM IST

Kolkata: Twenty-one-year-old A S Suresh Krishna of Andhra Pradesh showed real promise as he stunned reigning champion Ashutosh Singh to claim the men`s singles crown at the National Grass-court Tennis Championships which concluded at the South Club on Saturday.

Third seed Kyra Shroff of Maharashtra ended the run of unseeded Aishwarya Agrawal of Madhya Pradesh to clinch the women`s singles title.

Having already impressed with his clinical display on grass with a fine mix of power and control, the sixth seed from Hyderabad once again dished out a profesisonal
performance to win 6-4 7-6 (7-1).

Suresh, who had already scalped statemate and second seed P C Vignesh in a gruelling three-setter in the quarterfinals, was high on confidence in the first set.

Breaking the experienced Delhi lad in the seventh game, Suresh wrapped the first set that included four aces.

The second set went with serves till the tie-breaker in which Suresh raced past Ashutosh to settle the issue in 92 minutes.

Kyra took 95 minutes to outplay Aishwarya 6-4 6-1.

In the first set Kyra lost her serve in the very first game but broke back in the eighth. She again broke Aishwarya in the tenth to win the first set.

Kyra ran through her opposition in the second set as Aishwarya could not save a single service game.

The only game she got was when she again broke Kyra in the first game of second set but the Maharashtra girl soon completed the formalities en route to the title.

Kyra`s hope for a second title was shattered when in the doubles she along with local girl Shivika Burman, the top seeds were toppled by Ankita Raina (Gujarat) and Rishika Sunkara (Delhi) 3-6 6-0 7-10 in one hour and 30 minutes.

Results (all finals)

Men`s Singles: A S Suresh Krishna (Andhra) b Ashutosh Singh (Del) 6-4 7-6 (7-1).

Women`s Singles: Kyra Shroff (Mah) b Aishwarya Agrwal (MP) 6-4 6-1.

Women`s Doubles: Ankita Raina (Guj) & Rishika Sunkara (Del) b Shivika Burman (Ben) & Kyra Shroff (Mah) 6-3 0-6 10-7.