Vishnu survives a scare to enter 2nd round

Updated: Oct 23, 2012, 23:37 PM IST

Mumbai: Top seed J Vishnu Vardhan had to dig deep into his reserves to overcome a spirited challenge from a rival placed 500 places below him and enter the singles second round in the USD 15,000 CCI-ITF men`s Futures tennis tournament here today.

Vishnu, who took part in singles as well as doubles (with veteran Leander Paes) at the London Games and played a key role in piloting India past New Zealand in the Asia-Oceania Group I play-off tie recently, fought hard to chalk out a 6-4 5-7 6-3 victory in two hours and 16 minutes over Secunderabad city rival Ashwin Vijayraghavan.

The 25-year-old six-footer, ranked 272nd in the world, wason course for a straight-set win when he served for the match at 5-3 in the second set before his 20-year-old rival, an occasional practice partner of Vishnu too, clawed his way back.

However, Ashwin -- ranked 823 -- lost his steam in the sweltering heat after clinching the second set and was broken twice in the decider to help Vishnu earn a second round clash against Croatian Mate Pavic, the ninth seed, tomorrow.

"It was not one of my best days. I was not physically 100 per cent. The first round is always difficult. He`s a talented player and knows my game well as we come from the same city. I am taking one match at a time," said Vishnu after a tough first outing at the Cricket Club of India.

Pavic, ranked 463, came back from a set down to oust qualifier Rakshay Thakkar of India in three sets in another opening round encounter that lasted one hour and 48 minutes.

Fourth seed Huang Liang-Chi (Taipei), fifth seed Saketh Myneni, number seven Vijayant Malik, number 15 Kaza Vinayak Sharma, number 16 Chie-Fu Wang (Chinese Taipei) and number 19 Mohit Mayur also reached round two.


Singles (1st round): (All from India unless stated otherwise): J Vishnu Vardhan bt Ashwin Vijayragavan 6-4 5-7 6-3; Mate Pavic (Cro) bt Rakshay Thakkar 3-6 6-2 6-2; Kaza Vinayak Sharma bt Sebastian Ofner (Aut) 6-0 6-4; R Virali- Murugesan bt Reid Carleton (USA) 4-1 (retd).

Liang-Chi Huang (Tpe) bt N Prashanth 6-2 6-7 (2) 6-2; Saketh Myneni bt N Elangovan 6-2 6-1; Purav Raja bt Jatin Dahiya 6-1 6-0; James Marsalek (GBR) bt Lakshit Sood 6-2 6-2; C Rungkat (Ina) bt S Rawat 6-3 6-1; Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash bt Peng Chih Hsueh (Tpe) 6-3 6-2.

Doubles (1st round): Saket Myneni/Purav Raja bt Anvit Bendre/Tejas Chaukulkar 6-0 6-4; Vijayant Malik/Sunil-Kumar Sipaeya bt Ajai Selvaraj/Ashwin Vijayragavan 6-2 7-5; Kunal Anand/Ronak Manuja bt Neeraj Elangovan/Fariz Mohammed 7-5 6-4; Mate Pavic/Nicolas Reissig (AUT) bt Sagar Ahuja/Lakshit Sood 6-2, 6-3.