Wimbledon 2012, Day 8! Ferrer, Serena, Murray advance; Kvitova, del Potro crash out
Zeenews logo
 Follow Me on Pinterest Google Plus Ditto RSS Mail to us Mail to us
Friday, August 08, 2014 
Home News India @ wimbledon History Ranking Seedings Photo Gallery Near Misses Trivia

Wimbledon 2012, Day 8! Ferrer, Serena, Murray advance; Kvitova, del Potro crash out

Last Updated: Wednesday, July 04, 2012, 09:23
   Comments 0  
Wimbledon 2012, Day 8! Ferrer, Serena, Murray advance; Kvitova, del Potro crash outWimbledon: Spain's David Ferrer reached his first Wimbledon quarterfinal as he defeated Juan Martin del Potro of Argentina 6-3, 6-2, 6-3 under the Centre Court roof.

Four-time Wimbledon winner Serena Williams defeated defending champion Petra Kvitova in straight sets 6-3, 7-5.

After trailing by one set, Frenchman Jo-Wilfried Tsonga rose to the occasion to defeat Mardy Fish 4-6, 7-6, 6-4, 6-4.

Meanwhile amid the ongoing controversy in men’s tennis, the Indian challenge was all over at the Wimbledon as Leander Paes and Radek Stepanek and the pair of Mahesh Bhupathi and Rohan Bopanna suffered defeats in their respective matches.

Andy Murray finally made it to the top 8 as he defeated Marin Cilic 7-5, 6-2, 6-3. It is his fifth straight Wimbledon quarter-final.

Hello and welcome to our exclusive coverage of Wimbledon 2012. We witnessed one of the biggest upsets on Day 7 when World No. 1 Maria Sharapova lost to world No15 Sabine Lisicki 6-4, 6-3. After her loss, Sharapova will also lose her numero uno ranking.

World No.1 and top seed Novak Djokovic dispatched his countryman Victor Troicki in straight sets 6-3, 6-1, 6-3 in round 4 to ease into the quarter-final.

Second seed Victoria Azarenka of Belarus dispatched Ana Ivanovic 6-1, 6-0 to advance to the quarter-final of to meet Tamira Paszek.

Some of the featured matches for the day are

Centre Court

Gentlemen`s Singles - 4th Round

D. Ferrer v J. Del Potro

Ladies` Singles – Quarterfinals

S. Williams v P. Kvitova

Ladies` Singles – Quarterfinals

S. Lisicki v A. Kerber

D. Ferrer beat J. Del Potro 6-3, 6-2, 6-3

Murray beat M. Cilic 7-5, 6-2, 6-3

J. Tsonga beat Mardy Fish 4-6, 7-6, 6-4, 6-4

F. Mayer beat R. Gasquet 6-3, 6-1, 3-6, 6-2

P.Kohlschreiber beat B. Baker 6-1, 7-6, 6-3

S Williams beat P Kvitova 6-3, 7-5

A. Kerber beat S. Lisicki 6-3, 6-7, 7-5

M. Elgin and D. Istomin beat Mahesh Bhupathi and Rohan Bopanna 7-5, 7-6, 6-3

J. Marray and F. Nielsen beat A. Qureshi and J. Rojer 7-6, 7-6, 6-7, 5-7, 7-5

I. Dodig and M. Melo beat L. Paes and R. Stepanek 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, 6-7, 8-6

N. Llagostera Vives and M. Martinez Sanchez beat O. Govortsova and M.Minella 7-6, 6-4

R. Kops-Jones and A. Spears beat Y. Shvedova and G. Voskoboeva 7-5, 2-6, 6-4

E. Makarova and E. Vesnina beat M. Erakovic and T. Tanasugarn 6-3, 2-6, 7-5

A.Hlavackova and L. Hradecka beat N. Grandin and V. Uhlirova 5-7, 6-3, 6-3

First Published: Tuesday, July 03, 2012, 17:31



Post your Comments

Place :
Email :
Comments :

Most liked Comments

Photo Gallery
Wimbledon 2012
Roger Federer of Switzerland kisses the trophy after winning the men's singles final against Andy Murray of Britain at the All England Lawn Tennis ..»
Royal couple at Wimbledon
Kate, Duchess of Cambridge, right, and her sister Pippa Middleton, left, applaud before the start of the men's singles final between Roger Federer ..»
Wimbledon: Serve it hot
Tamira Paszek of Austria plays a return to Victoria Azarenka of Belarus during a quarterfinals match at the All England Lawn Tennis Championships a..»
India at Wimbledon
Wimbledon 2012: Leander Paes-Elena Vesnina stun top seeds to reach final Wimbledon 2012: Leander Paes-Elena Vesnina stun top seeds to reach final
Leander Paes and Elena Vesnina stunned top seeds Bob Bryan and Liezel ..»
Rank Player
1 Rafael Nadal (ESP)
2 Novak Djokovic (SRB)
3 Stanislas Wawrinka (SUI)
4 Roger Federer (SUI)
5 Andy Murray (GBR)
6 Tomas Berdych (CZE)
7 David Ferrer (ESP)
8 Del Potro, Juan Martin (ARG)
9 Milos Raonic (CAN)
10 Ernests Gulbis
Rank Player
1 Serena Williams (USA)
2 Li Na (CHN)
3 Agnieszka Radwanska (POL)
4 Simona Halep (ROU)
5 Victoria Azarenka (BLR)
6 Petra Kvitova (CZE)
7 Jelena Jankovic (SRB)
8 Jelena Jankovic (SRB)
9 Angelique Kerber (GER)
10 Dominika Cibulkova (SVK)
Copyright © Zee Media Corporation Ltd . All rights reserved