This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Younis dumped, Gul returns to Pak team for England tour

Karachi: Former captain Younis Khan, whose indefinite ban was removed recently, was not picked by the selectors while fast bowler Umar Gul returned to the Pakistan Test and Twenty20 squads for the upcoming tour of England between June and September.

Younis, who is presently in England playing for county team Surrey, was available for selection after having the ban removed by the appeal`s commissioner of the Pakistan Cricket Board earlier this year, but sources said PCB chief Ijaz Butt had refused to give clearance for his inclusion.

"Butt is not happy with Younis mainly because the former captain first refused to apologise for some statements made by his lawyer during the hearing of his appeal and also because Younis has from the day since he was banned criticised the Board for its decision," one source said.

Butt had said before leaving for Sri Lanka that Younis` selection was not final as he had yet to get clearance from the governing council of the Board and from him to be eligible for selection after the removal of the ban.

Butt had also inferred that Younis was not in form although the former captain in recent weeks has been among the runs for Surrey.

The PCB also dropped fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar for the Tests in England but provided some relief by including him in the 15-member squad for the T20 Internationals against Australia and England.

Batsman Faisal Iqbal was another surprising omission from the 17-member Test squad despite having done satisfactorily on the last Test tour to New Zealand and Australia.

The Board and team management took a big gamble while announcing the squads from Dambulla as several new faces have been included in the side.

The selectors have recalled Yasir Hameed, a stylish batsman who has not played since late 2007 besides Gul, who has recovered from a knee injury.

Gul, who missed the T20 World Cup and the Asia Cup due to his injury, has been picked in both the squads while Yasir is picked in the Test side.

The uncapped players in the Test squad include batsmen Umar Amin, Azhar Ali, pace bowlers Wahab Riaz and Tanvir Ahmed and reserve wicketkeeper Zulqarnain Haider.

Test squad: Salman Butt, Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Umar Amin, Azhar Ali, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Zulqarnain Haider, Muhammad Asif, Umar Gul, Muhammad Aamer, Wahab Riaz, Tanvir Ahmed, Danish Kaneria, Saeed Ajmal.

T20 squad: Salman Butt, Shahzaib Hasan, Umar Amin, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Muhammad Aamir, Umar Gul, Shoaib Akhtar, Saeed Ajmal, Wahab Riaz, Abdul Rehman and Fawad Alam.



From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions