Sitting MLAs to lock horns in four assembly seats of Himachal
 Follow Me on Pinterest Google Plus Ditto RSS Mail to us Mail to us
Sunday, April 20, 2014 

Sitting MLAs to lock horns in four assembly seats of Himachal

Last Updated: Monday, October 22, 2012, 19:42
Comments 0
Shimla: Four constituencies of Himachal will witness a fight between two sitting MLAs in the upcoming state polls following the major altercations in boundaries of assembly segments and rotation of reserved constituencies.

Leader of the Opposition in state assembly and the oldest candidate in the fray, Vidya Stokes (85) is facing another sitting MLA Rakesh Verma of BJP in Theog constituency in a seven-cornered contest.

Seven-time MLA, Stokes, who contested seven times from Theog had shifted to Kumarsein in 2003 and won twice from there but her constituency was scrapped in delimitation and a major portion was added in Theog.

Following which, she has reverted back to Theog, where she faces sitting legislator Rakesh Verma.

BJP MLA Rajiv Bindal who won from Solan constituency in last assembly polls, had shifted to Nahan, as his seat has been reserved for SC category. Bindal is pitted against sitting MLA and Congress candidate Kush Parmar.

In Dehra, BJP has fielded Irrigation and Public Health minister Ravinder Singh Ravi whose Thural constituency has been abolished and a Congress rebel and sitting MLA, Yog Raj is also contesting from this constituency as an independent.

Similarly, Sudhir Sharma of Congress, whose Baijnath constituency has been reserved for Scheduled caste, has shifted to Dharamsala where Industries minister Krishan Kapoor is in the fray along with thirteen other candidates.

Meanwhile, a number of prominent leaders including HPCC chief V B Singh and Chief Minister P K Dhumal had to shift their constituency due to the delimitation exercise.

The Rohroo constituency of Singh has been reserved for SC candidates, following which, he shifted to Shimla (Rural).

Dhumal, whose Bamsan constituency has been scrapped moved to adjoining Hamirpur constituency.


For Zee News’s Updates, follow us on Twitter , Facebook, Google+, Pinterest

First Published: Monday, October 22, 2012, 19:41
Place :
Email :
Comments :


Most liked Comments

Other News  
BJP should blame itself for Himachal debacle
BJP should blame itself for Himachal debacle
If the BJP has to have any realistic chance of winning the war for Delhi in 2014, it will have to st ...
Can the lotus maintain its Himalayan charm?
View Slideshow » 
Well of the House  
2007 Election Results
Current party-wise position in Himachal Pradesh

`UPA, Cong working for farmers`

Sonia slams BJP over corruption

Modi mocks PM as `Maun-Mohan`
More videos » 
Opinion Poll  
Does Congress` victory in Himachal show corruption was not a key issue?
Can`t say
If we have not won after doing good work for past five years then we have to introspect as to where we went wrong.
- PK Dhumal