Counting in Manipur tomorrow
Assembly Elections
Counting in Manipur tomorrow
Last Updated: Monday, March 05, 2012, 17:38
 Comments 0  

Imphal: Counting of votes in the 60-member Assembly in Manipur will be taken up at 8 am tomorrow in all the nine districts of the state, Election Commission sources said.

The Congress had contested all 60 seats, the Trinamool Congress 48, Manipur State Congress Party 31, CPI 24, NCP 22, BJP 19, Manipur People's Party 14, the National People’s Party.

Other small parties also contested a number of seats. The elections were held on January 28.

Meanwhile, 11 non-Congress parties formed the Peoples Democratic Aliance (PDA) yesterday as announced by its Convener M Nara belonging to the CPI.

The 11 parties in the the PDA are Trinamool Congress, CPI, Manipur State Congress Party, National Peoples Party, Lok Jansakti Party, NCP, Manipur People's Party, JD(U), CPI(M), Naga People's Front and BJP.

Fighting the elections alone this time, the CPI was a partner in the Secular Democratic Front government led by the Congress, formed in 2007.


First Published: Monday, March 05, 2012, 17:38



Post your Comments

Place :
Email :
Comments :


Other News

View Slideshow.. »  
Okram Ibobi Singh G Gaikhangam
View Slideshow .. »  
  Ukhrul Chandel
  Thoubal Nungba
  Tamenglong Tengnoupal
More .. »  
  Number of Seats and Electors
  Chronology of Chief Ministers
View Slideshow .. »  
Profile Geography
View Slideshow .. »  
Date of issue of Notification 04.01.2012 (Wednesday)
Last Date for Nominations 11.01.2012 (Wednesday)
Date for Scrutiny 12.01.2012 (Thursday)
Date of Poll 28.01.2012 (Saturday)
More .. »