14 women candidates enter Punjab Assembly
Assembly Elections
14 women candidates enter Punjab Assembly
Last Updated: Tuesday, March 06, 2012, 21:57
 Comments 0  

Chandigarh: Out of total 93 women candidates contesting the 117-seat Punjab Assembly polls, only 14 of them managed to win.

SAD had fielded 10, BJP three, Congress 11 and Peoples Party of Punjab (PPP) three women.

Maximum six women each of SAD and Congress returned home victorious in comparison to two of BJP and none of the Peoples Party of Punjab.

Former chief minister Rajinder Kaur Bhattal of Congress was re-elected from her traditional Lehra Assembly seat.

At Muslim dominated seat of Malerkotla it was a contest between a serving and retired IPS officers wives.

Farzana Alam of SAD and wife of DGP (retd) Mohmmad Izar Alam outpassed wife of ADGP Mohammad Mustafa, a sitting MLA Razia Sultana of the Congress.

Karan Kaur of Congress, who is a relative of former chief minister Harcharan Singh Brar, pocketed Muktsar seat.

While Amritsar BJP MP Navjot Singh Sidhu's wife Navjot Kaur of BJP won on newly created Assembly seat of Amritsar east, her party colleague Seema Kumari won Bhoa seat.

After five years, former SGPC chief and SAD candidate Bibi Jagir Kaur was elected from Bholath seat.

Among the sitting women candidates included Rajwinder Kaur of SAD from Nihalsinghwala, Mohinder Kaur Josh of SAD from Sham Chaurasi, Harchand Kaur of Congress from Mahalkalan.

Among the new entrants included Virender Kaur loomba of SAD from Shutrana, Guriqbal Kaur of Congress from Nawanshahar and Harpreet Kaur of SAD from Ghannaur.

Congress MP from Gurdsapur Partap Singh Bajwa's wife Charanjeet Kaur pocketed Qadian seat.

Aruna Chaudhary of Congress retained the Dinanagar seat.


First Published: Tuesday, March 06, 2012, 21:57



Post your Comments

Place :
Email :
Comments :


Other News

View Slideshow.. »  
Amarinder Singh Parkash Singh Badal
View Slideshow .. »  
  Lambi Patiala
  Muktsar Majitha
  Hoshiarpur Malerkotla
More .. »  
  Number of Seats and Electors
  Chief Ministers with Most Tenures
  Chronology of Chief Ministers
View Slideshow .. »  
History Economy
View Slideshow .. »  
Date of issue of Notification 05.01.2012 (Thursday)
Last Date for Nominations 12.01.2012 (Thursday)
Date for Scrutiny 13.01.2012 (Friday)
Date of Poll 30.01.2012 (Monday)
More .. »