Heavy polling benefits SAD
Assembly Elections
Heavy polling benefits SAD
Last Updated: Tuesday, March 06, 2012, 22:08
 Comments 0  
Tags: SADPunjabpoll

Chandigarh: Heavy polling has come to the aid of SAD which has romped home for the fourth time in Punjab with the voter turnout of over 70 per cent while Congress has taken a beating on this count.

The state had earlier witnessed over 70 per cent polling in 1967 (71.18 per cent), 1969 (72.27 per cent) and 2007 (75.45 per cent) helping Akalis come to power.

This time to 78.21 per cent of the electorate sxercised their franchise for the 117-member Assembly.

Even in case of polling between 65 and 70 per cent it was the Akalis who had gained the maximum in the border state.

The polling exceeded 65 per cent on six occasions and again the Akalis romped home to victory on four occasions in 1972 (68.63 per cent), 1977 (65.37 per cent), 1985 (67.53 per cent) and 1997 (68.73 per cent) while in remaining two 1972 (68.63 per cent) and 2002 (65.14 per cent) the Congress returned to power.

The Congress had wrested power in case of polling being less than 65 per cent as was evident in 1951 (57.85 per cent), 1957 (57.72 per cent), 1962 (63.44 per cent) and 1980 (64.33 per cent).

The 1992 poll was boycotted by the Akalis and the Congress had returned to power in the Assembly elections which saw the lowest polling 23.82 per cent.

In 2007, the polling percentage was 75.45 per cent and the Akalis swept to power with Badal becoming the Chief Minister of the state for the fourth time, while Gurnam Singh of SAD took the coveted post after 72.27 per cent polling in 1969.

In case of Congress party, Partap Singh Kairon repeated two consecutive terms in 1957 and 1962 in the joint Punjab with the state registering 57.72 and 63.44 per cent polling respectively.


First Published: Tuesday, March 06, 2012, 22:08



Post your Comments

Place :
Email :
Comments :


Other News

View Slideshow.. »  
Amarinder Singh Parkash Singh Badal
View Slideshow .. »  
  Lambi Patiala
  Muktsar Majitha
  Hoshiarpur Malerkotla
More .. »  
  Number of Seats and Electors
  Chief Ministers with Most Tenures
  Chronology of Chief Ministers
View Slideshow .. »  
History Economy
View Slideshow .. »  
Date of issue of Notification 05.01.2012 (Thursday)
Last Date for Nominations 12.01.2012 (Thursday)
Date for Scrutiny 13.01.2012 (Friday)
Date of Poll 30.01.2012 (Monday)
More .. »