BJP begins efforts to form new govt in Uttarakhand
Assembly Elections
BJP begins efforts to form new govt in Uttarakhand
Last Updated: Wednesday, March 07, 2012, 14:18
 Comments 0  

Dehra Dun: Despite falling short of majority, ruling BJP in Uttarakhand Wednesday began efforts to form the government with its senior leaders trying to establish contact with Independent MLAs and the Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (UKD).

"We are assessing the political situation. In case, the party thinks that it is appropriate to form the government, we will surely stake our claim," said outgoing Chief Minister B C Khanduri as party bigwigs, including Rajnath Singh and Ananth Kumar held talks here.

BJP, which got 31 seats, one short of Congress, has also convened a meeting of its newly-elected MLAs.

"We will take the opinion of all our MLAs also on the formation of new government," said Khanduri.

BJP's move came after Congress, too, began efforts to form a new government in Uttarakhand following its wafer-thin one seat lead against the ruling BJP in the cliff-hanger contest for the state Assembly polls, the results for which were declared yesterday.

As Congress emerged as the single largest party, a high-level delegation of the party called on Governor Margaret Alva late last evening and staked claim to form the new government.

Congress has also convened a meeting of the CLP, party sources said.

Meanwhile, a high-level Congress delegation led by election in-charge Chaudhary Birendra Singh went to New Delhi to hold discussions with the party high command today.

Out of the 70 seats, the Congress won 32 seats and the ruling BJP followed closely with 31 seats. Both the parties failed to touch the magic figure of 36 in the 70-member House. The biggest surprise came when Chief Minister B C Khanduri, who led the "Khanduri hain zaroori" campaign, was defeated by S S Negi of Congress from Kotdwar seat by 4,632 votes.

He is the first Chief Minister, who lost the elections in the 12-years of state's history since it was created in 2000.

BSP, which can play a crucial role in the formation of new government, has won three seats.

Uttarakhand Kranti Dal-Panwar (UKD-P) has also won one seat while Independents, who can lso play key role, have won from three seats. The Congress sources said that the party would seek support from Independents as well as UKD for the formation of new government.


First Published: Wednesday, March 07, 2012, 14:18



Post your Comments

Place :
Email :
Comments :


Other News

View Slideshows .. »  
BC Khanduri Harish Rawat
View Slideshow .. »  
  Kotdwar Rudraprayag
  Bazpur Roorkee
  Rajpur Pauri
More .. »  
  Number of Seats and Electors
  Chief Ministers with Most Tenures
  Chronology of Chief Ministers
View Slideshow.. »  
Tourism Profile
View Slideshow .. »  
Date of issue of Notification 05.01.2012 (Thursday)
Last Date for Nominations 12.01.2012 (Thursday)
Date for Scrutiny 13.01.2012 (Friday)
Date of Poll 30.01.2012 (Monday)
More .. »