Uttarakhand: CM Candidates : BC Khanduri
Assembly Elections
Uttarakhand CM Candidates
BC Khanduri
After serving in Corps of Engineers of Indian Army for 36 long years, BC Khanduri joined the BJP in 1991. He was elected to Lok Sabha from Garhwal constituency in the 10th general election held in the same year and was made the chief whip of BJP parliamentary party. He was re-elected to Lok Sabha from Garhwal Parliamentary constituency in the 12th Lok Sabha elections, 1998 and in subsequent general elections.

Khanduri served as the Minister of State (with independent charge) of the Road transport and highways ministry from 2000 to 2003 in Atal Bihari Vajpayee government. He was elevated to cabinet rank in 2003, and held the post until the tenure of the NDA government ended in 2004.

Khanduri is popularly known as ‘a road-builder’. As a Road transport and highway minister, he executed NDA government’s flagship National Highways Development project - the Golden Quadrilateral connecting the four metropolises of India Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata.

He led BJP to victory in the 2007 Assembly elections and was subsequently chosen as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. In the 2009 general election, the BJP performed poorly, following which Khanduri was asked to resign and Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank became the Chief Minister.

However, Nishank’s regime was marred by serious allegations of corruption, which forced the BJP leadership to re-induct Khanduri as Chief Minister in September last year.

Within two months of taking over as the Chief Minister for the second time, Khanduri brought a strong and effective Lokayukta Bill. Besides Lokpal, Khanduri government has also enacted Right to Public Services legislation, which guarantees time bound delivery of public services to citizens.

Although Khanduri is known as ‘Mr Clean’ but it remains to be seen whether his clean image would be enough to make the lotus bloom again in Dehradun.
Views 9616 
Previous  Next 
View Slideshows .. »  
Tourism Profile
View Slideshow .. »  
  Kotdwar Rudraprayag
  Bazpur Roorkee
  Rajpur Pauri
More .. »  
  Number of Seats and Electors  
  Chief Ministers with Most Tenures  
  Chronology of Chief Ministers  
  View Slideshow ..»    
More .. »  
Date of issue of Notification 05.01.2012 (Thursday)
Last Date for Nominations 12.01.2012 (Thursday)
Date for Scrutiny 13.01.2012 (Friday)
Date of Poll 30.01.2012 (Monday)
More .. »