UP is battlefield for some MP leaders too
Assembly Elections
UP is battlefield for some MP leaders too
Last Updated: Sunday, January 29, 2012, 18:07
 Comments 0  

Bhopal: The forthcoming assembly election in the neighbouring Uttar Pradesh is a high stake political battle for some prominent leaders from Madhya Pradesh too.

Both Congress General Secretary Digvijay Singh and former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister and BJP leader Uma Bharti are leaving no stone unturned to ensure their respective party's success in the election.

Digvijay, buoyed by the Congress's performance in UP in the last Lok Sabha election, has shifted the base temporarily to Lucknow. He has rented a flat there, and even taken his cook along, sources close to the Congress leader said.

Besides actual campaigning, Singh is busy fine-tuning the party machinery, and strategising. He ensures that he is in Lucknow every evening for meetings with party leaders.

Madhya Pradesh Congress MP from Ujjain, Premchand Guddu, is taking care of party's campaign in Meerut region of Uttar Pradesh. Like Singh, he has rented a house there.

But Uma Bharti has a higher profile: not only she is BJP's crowd-puller campaigner in UP, but is being touted as a candidate for chief ministerial post. She is contesting election from the crucial Charkhari seat in Bundelkhand region of the northern state.

Bharti, once a prominent face of Ram Janmabhoomi movement, is fully aware that success in Uttar Pradesh will catapult her to a larger role within BJP and in the national politics.

Another prominent politician from Madhya Pradesh, BJP's National General Secretary Narendra Singh Tomar, who is party's in-charge of Uttar Pradesh, too is active in preparations for the polls. He too is camping in UP.


First Published: Sunday, January 29, 2012, 18:07



Post your Comments

Place :
Email :
Comments :


Other News

View Slideshows .. »  
BC Khanduri Harish Rawat
View Slideshow .. »  
  Kotdwar Rudraprayag
  Bazpur Roorkee
  Rajpur Pauri
More .. »  
  Number of Seats and Electors
  Chief Ministers with Most Tenures
  Chronology of Chief Ministers
View Slideshow.. »  
Tourism Profile
View Slideshow .. »  
Date of issue of Notification 05.01.2012 (Thursday)
Last Date for Nominations 12.01.2012 (Thursday)
Date for Scrutiny 13.01.2012 (Friday)
Date of Poll 30.01.2012 (Monday)
More .. »