BJP responsible for Jharkhand's poor condition: Namdhari

 Former Jharkhand Assembly Speaker Inder Singh Namdhari on Saturday held BJP responsible for the 'poor' condition of the mineral rich state which lagged behind on the developmental front.

Virendra Singh sworn in as Jharkhand Chief Justice

Justice Virendra Singh was on Saturday sworn in as the new chief justice of Jharkhand High Court.

EC allots broadcast to Jharkhand, J&K parties for canvassing on DD, AIR

Election Commission on Friday allotted broadcast and telecast time to political parties for carrying out their election campaigns on Doordarshan and All India Radio for the upcoming assembly elections in Jharkhand and Jammu and Kashmir.

JVM peeved with Congress for leaving it out of alliance

The Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantric) on Friday held a senior Congress leader from the state responsible for the party not being considered for Congress led alliance to contest the Jharkhand assembly polls.

Congress decision to break alliance unfortunate, says Hemant Soren

Chief Minister Hemant Soren on Friday termed as "unfortunate" Congress' decision to break alliance with JMM and asked BJP not to be in "illusion" of repeating Maharashtra and Haryana-like performances in Jharkhand.

Congress-JMM alliance breaks in poll-bound Jharkhand
Congress-JMM alliance breaks in poll-bound Jharkhand

Just ahead of Jharkhand Assembly elections, over a year long alliance between the Congress and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) has collapsed, Congress general secretary BK Hariprasad confirmed on Friday.

Notification issued for Jharkhand first phase polling

Notification for the first phase of polling in 13 of the 81 Jharkhand Assembly seats was issued on Tuesday.​

First phase poll notification in Jharkhand on Tuesday

The Election Commission has effected a minor reschedule by notifying the November 25 first phase Assembly polls tomorrow instead of October 29, as was decided earlier, election office said on Monday.

Jharkhand Cong leaders rush to Delhi to discuss poll alliance

Jharkhand PCC president Sukhdeo Bhagat besides other party leaders today left for New Delhi after attending the extended working committee meeting here to discuss on pre-poll alliance and seat adjustments, a senior Congress leader said.

BJP to contest in all 81 seats in Jharkhand

The BJP on Sunday said it would fight in all the 81 Assembly seats in Jharkhand in the coming polls.

BJP may contest without ally in Jharkhand

After winning 12 of the 14 Lok Sabha seats in Jharkhand, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is determined to go it alone in the upcoming assembly elections.

Five-phase poll too exhaustive, say Jharkhand parties

 Main political parties today welcomed the Election Commission's announcement of Assembly polls for Jharkhand, but termed the five-phase election as too exhaustive.

Parties in Jharkhand gear up for assembly polls

Following the announcement of the dates for the Jharkhand assembly polls, political parties here are gearing up for the election.

EC announces five-phased polls in J&K, Jharkhand; counting on December 23
EC announces five-phased polls in J&K, Jharkhand; counting on December 23

The Election Commission on Saturday announced five-phased assembly elections to be held in Jammu and Kashmir and Jharkhand, beginning from November 25 and ending December 20.

Police busts inter-state gang in Dhanbad

 Police have busted an inter-state gang engaged in fraudulent withdrawal of money from ATM with the arrest of two persons.

Time has come for strong and stable govt in Jharkhand: Hemant Soren

Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren on Friday said that the time has come to establish a strong and stable government in Jharkhand to fulfill the dreams of the people.

Gowda to consider Jharkhand's demand for more trains

Union minister DV Sadananda Gowda on Thursday assured that he will consider Jharkhand's demand for more trains in the next rail budget as the Railways earn a lot of freight revenue from the state.

JPA demands renovation of Namkum railway station

 Jharkhand Passengers Association (JPA) today demanded renovation of Namkum railway station in Ranchi district, a day before the scheduled visit of Railway Minister D V Sadananda Gowda.

Jharkhand to set up commission to check illegal land transfers

Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren on Tuesday said his government is preparing a proposal to constitute a commission to check illegal transfer of land.

CRPF carries out community policing in Maoist areas of Jharkhand

The Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) carried out community policing in the red corridors of Jharkhand on Tuesday in order to create awareness among uninformed villagers about the need to fight the Maoists.

Top Naxal commander held by Jharkhand police

The Jharkhand police have arrested dreaded Naxal commander, Mukhlal Mahto alias Mochu Bhagat, from Jumla hill under the Silli police station area here.

Cyclone Hudhud: 300 houses damaged, several hurt in Jharkhand

Over 300 houses were damaged and several persons were injured under the impact of Cyclone Hudhud as heavy rains accompanied by strong winds lashed parts of Jharkhand where more rains were predicted.

Jharkhand: 200 kg explosives, 6 dozen crude bombs seized

Security forces on Monday recovered a cache of over 200 kg of explosives and six dozen locally made pressure bombs during an anti-Naxal raid in Latehar district of Jharkhand.

Heavy rains predicted in Jharkhand

Intense clouds on Sunday hovered over Jharkhand, with heavy rains being predicted tomorrow due to the impact of Cyclone Hudhud.

Elect performance-oriented candidate in Jharkhand: Shatrughan Sinha

BJP leader Shatrughan Sinha has asked the people of Jharkhand to elect a performance - oriented candidate who will lead a full-term BJP majority government in the state in the next Assembly election.

Shatrughan Sinha praises PM Modi for 'Swachh Bharat'

Actor-turned politician Shatrughan Sinha has appreciated Prime Minister Narendra Modi for launching campaigns such as Swachh Bharat, Swasth Bharat and Adarsh Gram.

Majority govt would help Jharkhand: Sinha
Majority govt would help Jharkhand: Sinha

Senior BJP leader Yashwant Sinha said a full majority government headed by a strong leader would erase all the bad names Jharkhand had earned during last 14 years of its creation.

Arjun Munda greets Kailash Satyarthi

Former Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda on Saturday congratulated Nobel Peace Prize Winner Kailash Satyarthi and said his life from participating in Jayaprakash Narayan?s movement to acts against child labour had been a long and arduous one.

Two bodies found, protesters ransack shop in Medininagar

The highly decomposed bodies of two persons were recovered from a hillock at Kakar in Palamu district sparking off protests by locals who allegedly ransacked about a dozen shops here on Saturday.

Former Jharkhand minister sentenced to judicial remand

A local court on Wednesday sent former Jharkhand minister and Congress MLA Yogendra Sao to one day's judicial remand, asking him to appear before it tomorrow.