Election 2014

Rahul Gandhi should accept poll defeat gracefully: C.P Thakur

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader C.P Thakur on Monday said that Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi should accept defeat and think seriously on taking on the role of Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha.

May 19, 2014, 14:01 PM IST

Who said what on Narendra Modi Win

Here is what the world has to say about the day of decision in the biggest democracy of the world.

May 17, 2014, 13:48 PM IST

Congress paid for its anti-people policies: Tripura Chief Minister

Tripura Chief Minister Manik Sarkar today said the country rejected Congress and it UPA allies in the recently-concluded Lok Sabha polls because of its anti-people policies.

May 17, 2014, 00:20 AM IST

Murli Manohar Joshi trounces Jaiswal in Kanpur

BJP veteran Murli Manohar Joshi today won Kanpur Parliamentary constituency, defeating Union coal minister Sriprakash Jaiswal by 2,22,946 votes.

May 17, 2014, 00:18 AM IST

Telangana: TRS puts up a sterling LS show; Jaipal Reddy loses

Telangana Rashtra Samiti has put up a sterling performance, winning 11 of the 16 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana, whereas Congress managed to bag just two.

May 17, 2014, 00:14 AM IST

Amarinder the lone MLA to win at LS polls from Punjab

Of the seven MLAs who tried their luck at the parliamentary hustings from Punjab, only former chief minister Amarinder Singh of Congress was lucky enough to romp home victorious.

May 17, 2014, 00:11 AM IST

Bangladesh speaker expects swift resolution of issues with India

Bangladesh`s parliamentary speaker today hoped for a quick resolution of outstanding issues like the Teesta river and land boundary agreements with the new government in India while stressing the need for further cementing bilateral ties for mutual benefit.

May 17, 2014, 00:09 AM IST

Union Minister Mullappally Ramachandran retains Vadakara seat

Veteran Congress leader and Union Minister, Mullappally Ramachandran retained the Vadakara constituency, by edging out CPI(M)`s A N Shamseer of LDF by a slender margin of 3306 votes in a fluctuating battle.

May 16, 2014, 23:45 PM IST

UN Chief Ban Ki-moon commends India for peaceful elections

UN chief Ban Ki-moon has commended the Indian government, its people and the political parties on peacefully conducting its weeks-long general elections.

May 16, 2014, 23:41 PM IST

Mandate is people`s belief in Modi vision: Jharkhand BJP

BJP today said the people voted for Narendra Modi`s vision and his promise to weed out corruption and controlling price rise in the country.

May 16, 2014, 23:39 PM IST

AAP eats into SAD, Congress vote share in Punjab

Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party, which tasted success only in Punjab winning four Lok Sabha seats, made inroads into the vote-share of the state`s ruling SAD-BJP alliance as well as the opposition Congress.

May 16, 2014, 23:33 PM IST

Hema Malini makes dream debut in Mathura

BJP candidate Hema Malini made a dream debut from Mathura Lok Sabha constituency defeating incumbent Jayant Chaudhary of RLD by an impressive margin of 3,30,743 votes.

May 16, 2014, 23:31 PM IST

Varanasi: Congress strategy backfires, Ajai Rai risks forfeiting deposit

Congress` decision to field a local MLA against Narendra Modi in Varanasi appears to have backfired as the party`s nominee finished a distant third besides running the risk of forfeiting his deposit.

May 16, 2014, 23:29 PM IST

High security in Varanasi ahead of Modi visit tomorrow

Security was stepped up today in the temple town ahead of BJP prime ministerial nominee Narendra Modi`s first visit as an elected MP of Varanasi here tomorrow.

May 16, 2014, 23:26 PM IST

Seven Union Ministers taste humiliating defeat in UP

All seven UPA ministers, including Salman Khurshid, Ajit Singh and Sriprakash Jaiswal, who contested in Uttar Pradesh have suffered defeat.

May 16, 2014, 23:20 PM IST

Sr Chautala in jail, INLD`s 2nd rung leaders keep party afloat

With party`s senior leaders, including its president Om Prakash Chautala in jail, it was going to be an acid test for second rung leaders of INLD in the Lok Sabha polls and they managed to create some impression.

May 16, 2014, 23:17 PM IST

Lok Sabha Election Results 2014: Turncoats taste triumph in Haryana

Notwithstanding the sharp attack they had to face from the ruling Congress camp, turncoats fielded by BJP tasted success in Haryana.

May 16, 2014, 23:15 PM IST

Naidu`s development promise helps TDP to win in Seemandhra

TDP`s poll campaign refrain that only Chandrababu Naidu can develop residual state of Andhra Pradesh appeared to be the lone clinching factor in the party`s stupendous poll victory in Seemandhra.

May 16, 2014, 22:09 PM IST

Resignation won`t serve any purpose:MPCC after Raut, Rane quit

After a severe drubbing in Lok Sabha polls, Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee today said resignations on moral grounds will not resolve problems faced by the party.

May 16, 2014, 22:06 PM IST

We accept people`s mandate with humility: Delhi Congress

Suffering a severe drubbing in the Lok Sabha polls today, Delhi Congress today said it accepted the verdict with humility and asked BJP to fulfil the promises it made to the people during the campaign.

May 16, 2014, 21:48 PM IST

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link