Election-Commision - Latest News on Election-Commision | Read Breaking News on Zee News

EC seeks report from dist admin on Khurshid`s poll code violation

Last Updated: Sunday, March 30, 2014, 18:07

The EC has sought a report from the Farukkhabad district administration on the alleged violation of Model Code of Conduct by Union Minister Salman Khurshid.

EC should cognizance of Munde`s poll expenses

Last Updated: Friday, June 28, 2013, 14:44

The govt Friday demanded that the poll panel should take cognizance of BJP leader Gopinath Munde`s comments that he had spent around Rs 8 crore in the last Lok Sabha elections against the prescribed limit of Rs 25 lakh.

EC rejects Swamy’s plea to derecognise Congress

Last Updated: Tuesday, November 06, 2012, 16:15

The EC on Tueday rejected Janta Party chief Subramanian Swamy`s plea seeking to derecognise Congress for violating laws by providing a Rs 90 crore loan to a company that published the now-defunct National Herald newspaper.

EC asks CBDT; I-T to monitor funding in polls

Last Updated: Tuesday, September 18, 2012, 15:26

The EC has sought deployment of the investigation machinery of the Income Tax department for checking movement of illegal funds during the forthcoming assembly elections.

Reduce cap on poll expenditure: Hindu Mahasabha

Last Updated: Wednesday, February 29, 2012, 19:39

All India Hindu Mahasabha Wednesday urged the Election Commission to reduce the ceiling on electoral expenditure as part of stricter measures to check the use of money power.

Notification for last phase of UP polls issued

Last Updated: Monday, February 06, 2012, 14:46

Notification for the seventh and last phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly election was issued Monday with which nominations process also started.

Khurshid`s talk of ‘control’ upsets EC

Last Updated: Wednesday, December 28, 2011, 13:00

At a time when the Centre is embroiled in a bitter war with Anna Hazare over the Lokpal Bill, one of its top ministers has now landed in a soup following his adverse remarks on the Election Commission.