Election results 2014

`Team Rahul` continues to face muted criticism

Rahul Gandhi and his advisers continued to be subjected to muted criticism in senior echelons of Congress party which is reeling under the aftershock of a pulverising defeat in the Lok Sabha polls.

May 23, 2014, 20:44 PM IST

Wrong to blame Rahul Gandhi, UPA-II was not good product: Congress leader

Rahul Gandhi was faced with an unenviable task in the Lok Sabha polls as UPA-II was "not a good product" that could be marketed with voters, a party leader close to the Congress Vice President has said.

May 23, 2014, 18:50 PM IST

Voices in favour of Priyanka Gandhi grow stronger in Congress

Against the backdrop of debacle in Lok Sabha polls, voices for bringing Priyanka Gandhi to the forefront if politics grew stronger within the Congress party with at least two leaders on Friday saying she is a "big fighter" and has the "natural ability" to connect with people.

May 23, 2014, 18:45 PM IST

Jagan`s party to give issue-based support to Narendra Modi

TDP`s arch rival YSRCP chief YS Jaganmohan Reddy on Monay met Prime Minister-elect Narendra Modi and extended "issue based" support to BJP, saying his party was never averse to him.

May 19, 2014, 23:05 PM IST

Narendra Modi to be elected BJP, NDA coalition leader today

Narendra Modi is all set to be elected leader of the BJP and NDA parliamentary coalition tomorrow as jockeying for positions in the new Cabinet gained momentum on Monday.

May 19, 2014, 22:56 PM IST

Amit Shah, Arun Jaitley meet RSS leaders

A host of BJP leaders, including Prime Minister-elect Narendra Modi`s close aide Amit Shah and Arun Jaitley on Monday met top RSS functionaries and held discussions even as the party turns to the formation of the next Union Cabinet.

May 19, 2014, 22:41 PM IST

How will Narendra Modi`s key aide Amit Shah be rewarded for BJP’s spectacular win in UP?

The way Amit Shah handled his latest responsibility — Narendra Modi-led BJP`s UP campaign — has shown that this electrifying BJP leader has it in him to take up larger roles.

May 19, 2014, 01:36 AM IST

Narendra Modi meets LK Advani, MM Joshi, steps up discussions over government formation

India`s PM-designate Narendra Modi on Sunday met senior party leader LK Advani as well as other leaders including from alliance partners as part of consultations aimed at formation of the new NDA government.

May 18, 2014, 23:51 PM IST

75 percent MPs are graduate in 16th Lok Sabha

About 75 per cent of MPs in the 16th Lok Sabha have at least a graduate degree, while 10 per cent are only matriculates.

May 18, 2014, 09:33 AM IST

Delhi`s lone woman MP Lekhi got less votes than AAP`s Birla

BJP`s Meenakshi Lekhi, the only woman representative from Delhi in the 16th Lok Sabha, had a lower vote share than Aam Aadmi Party`s Rakhi Birla among the 13 women candidates who contested from the national capital.

May 18, 2014, 09:24 AM IST

Delhi`s Independents fail to make any impact in LS polls

Performance of most of the 57 Independent Lok Sabha candidates from Delhi was dismal with the exception of beauty queen Ruby Yadav from South Delhi and two namesakes of West Delhi`s AAP candidate Jarnail Singh.

May 18, 2014, 09:13 AM IST

SAD core panel to study poll results

Ruling Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) president Sukhbir Singh Badal on Saturday constituted a three-member committee to study and analyse the outcome of the Lok Sabha elections in the state.

May 18, 2014, 01:19 AM IST

Winning margin of NPF decreases in Nagaland

The ruling Naga People`s Front (NPF) supported by Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) won the lone Lok Sabha seat of Nagaland for the third consecutive time since 2004, but its victory margin decreased compared to 2009.

May 18, 2014, 01:05 AM IST

Gogoi defends Sonia, Rahul Gandhi after poll drubbing

After Congress` debacle in the Lok Sabha elections, Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi came out in defence of its leaders Sonia and Rahul Gandhi saying the party has turned stronger under their leadership.

May 18, 2014, 00:48 AM IST

61 women elected to Lok Sabha

The 16th Lok Sabha will have a record number of 61 women leaders as compared to 59 women MPs elected during the previous General Elections.

May 18, 2014, 00:39 AM IST

Sitting Shiv Sena-BJP MPs won with bigger margins this time

A dozen of Shiv Sena-BJP MPs have retained their seats in Maharashtra, polling more votes than in 2009 and winning by bigger margins.

May 18, 2014, 00:36 AM IST

J&K governor NN Vohra congratulates winning candidates

Jammu and Kashmir Governor NN Vohra congratulated victorious candidates of opposition PDP and BJP in the Lok Sabha polls and expressed hope that they would bring lasting peace and rapid progress in the state.

May 17, 2014, 21:18 PM IST

Puducherry CM greets Narendra Modi

Puducherry Chief Minister and AINRC chief N Rangasamy on Saturday congratulated Narendra Modi for the BJP-led NDA`s `historic win` in the Lok Sabha polls.

May 17, 2014, 21:17 PM IST

BJD`s Basanti records narrow 115-vote margin victory

They say a winner takes it all and BJD`s Basanti Mallick proved it once again defeating Congress` Dasarathi Gamang by a narrow margin of 115 votes.

May 17, 2014, 21:16 PM IST

Assam BJP hopes proper representation in Modi government

The Assam unit of the BJP, which won 7 seats out of 14 in the state, expects to have proper representation in the portfolio of Union ministers in Narendra Modi government.

May 17, 2014, 20:59 PM IST