Gujarat election results 2012

Gujarat Election Results 2012: 16 women MLAs make it to assembly

Sixteen women candidates emerged victorious in the Gujarat assembly elections, same as last time, 12 of whom belonged to BJP and four from Congress.

Dec 21, 2012, 23:18 PM IST

Narendra Modi stakes claim to form govt

BJP leader Narendra Modi on Friday met Governor Kamla Beniwal and staked claim to form the government.

Dec 21, 2012, 09:57 AM IST

Gujarat people voted for development: Munda

Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda congratulated his Gujarat counterpart Narendra Modi for accomplishing a hat-trick in the Assembly elections, and said people of the state voted for development.

Dec 21, 2012, 00:32 AM IST

Modi not acceptable to country as PM candidate: Medha Patkar

Social activist Medha Patkar said Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi was not acceptable to country as a Prime Ministerial candidate as debate raged on the BJP leader`s possible national ambitions.

Dec 20, 2012, 19:57 PM IST

Gujarat Election Results 2012: How Congress lost the plot

It seems the Congress is living in its own world away from reality.

Dec 20, 2012, 19:04 PM IST

Narendra Modi: BJP’s dilemma, Congress’ worry

The verdict is out. The Bharatiya Janata Party under the leadership of Narendra Modi has once again conquered Gujarat.

Dec 20, 2012, 18:04 PM IST

Gujarat win emphatic, Himachal a disappointment: Jaitley

BJP leader Arun Jaitley Thursday termed his party`s win in Gujarat as "emphatic" and its loss in Himachal Pradesh "disappointing".

Dec 20, 2012, 17:53 PM IST

Beginning of a new chapter, says Narendra Modi after Gujarat win

Narendra Modi took to twitter and blog on Wednesday to thank his supporters for voting him back to power in Gujarat for a third time in a row.

Dec 20, 2012, 17:52 PM IST

Gujarat Result Analysis: Modi’s win, grey areas & implications

Narendra Modi has just about equalled his 2007 tally by winning 115 seats.

Dec 20, 2012, 17:40 PM IST

Keshubhai Patel – Last battle lost

It was perhaps the last electoral battle for former Gujarat chief minister Keshubhai Patel.

Dec 20, 2012, 17:35 PM IST

Five ministers in Modi government cede ground to Cong, GPP

Even as Narendra Modi is well on the road to make a hat-trick in Gujarat, five incumbent BJP ministers lost the electoral battle.

Dec 20, 2012, 17:11 PM IST

Gujarat Election Results: Narendra Modi’s supporters celebrate victory

Supporters of incumbent Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi began celebrations in different parts of the country.

Dec 20, 2012, 16:31 PM IST

Arun Jaitley sidesteps question on ‘bigger role’ for Nraendra Modi

Senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley said on Wednesday evaded the question of Narendra Modi playing a bigger role at the national level.

Dec 20, 2012, 16:26 PM IST

Narendra Modi meets Keshubhai Patel, touches his feet

After securing victory in Gujarat Assembly Elections, the state’s Chief Minister Narendra Modi reached Keshubhai Patel`s residence to seek his blessings.

Dec 20, 2012, 16:10 PM IST

Narendra Modi seeks his mother’s blessings

In his first appearance on the all-important counting day in Gujarat on Thursday, Narendra Modi met his mother to seek her blessings.

Dec 20, 2012, 15:46 PM IST

Gujarat election results 2012: Narendra Modi baiters bite the dust

The BJP appeared set to return to power with a landslide – over 120 of the total 182 seats.

Dec 20, 2012, 15:15 PM IST

Arjun Modhwadia resigns as Gujarat Congress president

Taking responsibility for defeat in the Gujarat Assembly Elections, Arjun Modhwadia on Thursday resigned as the state Congress’ president.

Dec 20, 2012, 15:04 PM IST

We always knew it would be difficult to win in Gujarat: Kamal Nath

Reacting to the outcome of results in Gujarat, Kamal Nath said that the Congress always knew that winning in Gujarat would be difficult.

Dec 20, 2012, 14:52 PM IST

Four reasons behind Narendra Modi’s victory

The BJP winning more than 120 seats will propel Narendra Modi to the national stage, but here’s a look at the factors that played a role in his victory.

Dec 20, 2012, 14:25 PM IST

Congress won where Rahul Gandhi campaigned: Manish Tewari

Information and Broadcasting Minister Manish Tewari said that all the constituencies of Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh where Rahul Gandhi had campaigned have tasted success.

Dec 20, 2012, 14:10 PM IST