This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Congress announce nominees for coming UP by-elections

Shailesh Singh will be party candidate from Jangipur seat in Ghazipur and Shishupal Singh Jatav will be the nominee from Bilari seat in Morababad.

Three presiding officers removed after Trinamool candidate`s entry

The Election Commission removed presiding officers of three booths in West Bengal`s Murshidabad district for allowing "illegal entry" to Trinamool Congress candidate from Jangipur Haji Nurul Islam, an official said.

EC removes three presiding officers in WB

Three presiding officers in the Jangipur Lok Sabha constituency were removed on Thursday by the Election Commission after Trinamool Congress candidate Sk Nurul allegedly influenced voters and violated prohibitory orders.

President`s son faces tough battle in `bidi` town Jangipur

After barely scraping through in 2012 bypolls on his father Pranab Mukherjee vacating the seat, Abhijit Mukherjee is now facing a stern test to rid himself of `President`s son` tag in this minority-dominated `bidi` town where he is pitted against six Muslim rivals, among others.

President Pranab on day-long visit to West Bengal tomorrow

President Pranab Mukherjee will embark on a day-long visit to West Bengal on Thursday, where he will attend several functions including inauguration of campus of Aligarh Muslim University Centre at Jangipur.

President to pay two-day visit to West Bengal from Thursday

President Pranab Mukherjee will embark on a two-day visit of West Bengal to attend various public functions.

Chavan disapproves of Abhijit Mukherjee`s ‘dented-painted’ remarks

Maharashtra Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan disapproved of remarks by President Pranab Mukherjee`s son Abhijit who described women in Delhi gang-rape protests as `highly dented and painted`.

Bypoll to Jangipur, Tehri Garhwal seats on Oct 10

The EC on Wednesday announced bypolls to Jangipur and Tehri Garhwal Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal and Uttarakhand on October 10.