Rajya Sabha elections in Jammu and Kashmir: Omar slams BJP-PDP alliance
Rajya Sabha elections in Jammu and Kashmir: Omar slams BJP-PDP alliance

National Conference on Thursday termed the BJP-PDP alliance for Rajya Sabha elections as "unholy and opportunistic" and asked other parties and independent MLAs to vote for Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad in the February 7 polls.

CPI(M) to vote against BJP, PDP in RS elections in J&K

Terming the proposed alliance between BJP and PDP as "opportunist", CPI(M) on Monday said it has decided to vote against the parties in the Rajya Sabha election for four seats in Jammu and Kashmir scheduled to be held on February 7.

Two BSP candidates file nomination for RS polls

 Two BSP candidates today filed their nomination papers for the biennial Rajya Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh.

SP announces Rajya Sabha list, door shut on Amar Singh

The Samajwadi Party (SP) Friday announced the names of six party candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections scheduled for next month.

Notification for Rajya Sabha elections in Arunachal Pradesh

The Election Commission on Monday issued notification for holding Rajya Sabha elections in Arunachal Pradesh along with several other states on June 19.

BJP demands apology from Naveen, claims BJD-Congress secret nexus

BJP alleged results of Rajya Sabha elections in Odisha exposed "secret understanding" between BJD and Congress and sought apology from Naveen Patnaik for defeat of Raghunath Mohapatra in the polls.

Left Front cross-voting miffs CPI(M)`s Mollah

Outspoken veteran CPI(M) leader Abdur Rejjak Mollah expressed outrage over cross-voting by some Left Front legislators in favour of Trinamool Congress during the Rajya Sabha elections in West Bengal.

RS polls: Opposition parties accuse TMC of poaching MLAs

Ahead of election to five Rajya Sabha seats in West Bengal on Friday, the Opposition on Thursday accused the ruling Trinamool Congress of trying to poach their MLAs.

Congress rebel `withdraws` from Rajya Sabha poll fray in AP

Congress MLA Aadala Prabhakar Reddy, who entered the Rajya Sabha election fray in Andhra Pradesh as a rebel, on Thursday announced "withdrawal" of his candidature.

Two independent MLAs back BJD, Congress cry `horse trading` in RS polls

With 2 Independent MLAs announcing loyalties to Odisha CM on eve of Rajya Sabha polls, Congress moved the EC on seeking to debar Talcher legislator Braja Pradhan from voting Friday.

Two Independent MLAs turn BJD`s associate members, to vote Mohapatra

A day before Rajya Sabha elections in Odisha, 2 Independent MLAs-Jitu Patnaik from Champua and Braja Pradhan from Talcher announced support to ruling BJD which backed Independent Raghunath Mohapatra.

TMC cajoling Left MLAs to vote for party: CPI-M

Trinamool Congress workers are cajoling several MLAs of Left Front parties to vote for its candidates in the Rajya Sabha elections in West Bengal on Friday, LF major CPI(M) alleged on Thursday.

EC appoints observers for elections in four states

The Election Commission of India has appointed special observers for the biennial Rajya Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Odisha, and West Bengal on Feb 7, a statement said Tuesday.

BJP MLAs seek Parliamentary Board`s decision on RS polls

Unable to take decision on supporting BJD-backed independent candidate Raghunath Mohapatra in February 7 Rajya Sabha elections in Odisha, BJP Legislature Party left matter to BJP parliamentary board.

Five candidates in fray for Four RS seats from Odisha

Five candidates, including 3 ruling BJD legislators, remained in race for 4 Rajya Sabha seats from Odisha in February 7 as no candidate withdrew their nominations on last date for withdrawal of names.

Nathwani, Gupta elected to RS unopposed from Jharkhand

Sitting MP Parimal Nathwani and RJD leader Prem Chand Gupta were on Friday elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Jharkhand.

Papers of three independent candidates rejected in Odisha

The nomination papers of three Independent candidates for the February 7 Rajya Sabha elections were rejected after scrutiny on Wednesday.

AP: Cong fails to stop rebels` nomination for Rajya Sabha elections

The Congress in Andhra Pradesh suffered a set back on Wednesday as it failed to get the nominations rejected of two rebel candidates for Rajya Sabha elections.

Sanjay Singh richest candidate in RS elections in Assam

Lok Sabha member from Sultanpur in Uttar Pradesh Sanjay Singh emerged the richest among Rajya Sabha contestants in Assam with total assets worth Rs 20.62 crore, according to his affidavit while filing papers for the RS seat.

Digvijay Singh files Rajya Sabha nomination from MP

Putting an end to his ten-year self- imposed `exile` from electoral politics, Congress general secretary Digvijay Singh on Tuesday filed his nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha elections from Madhya Pradesh.