Delhi HC reserves verdict on plea of ex-Maha CM against EC notice

The Delhi High Court on Tuesday reserved its verdict on a plea filed by former Maharashtra chief minister Ashok Chavan against an Election Commission order finding him guilty of not giving correct account of money spent in his Assembly Election in 2009.

Rajasthan bypolls: No nominations on Day 4

No nominations were filed on the fourth day of filing papers for four Assembly bypolls in Rajasthan slated for September 13.

Won`t contest from Guhagar, but campaign against Jadhav: Nilesh Rane

Nilesh Rane, the elder son of Maharashtra Industries Minister Narayan Rane, said he would not stand for coming Assembly election against NCP`s Bhaskar Jadhav, but "will not rest" until the latter was defeated.

Manjhi questions Modi`s Jharkhand visit during bypoll in Bihar

Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi questioned the visit of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in neighbouring Jharkhand when bypolls in 10 Assembly seats were taking place in Bihar.

BJP submits memorandum to Guv demanding fresh polls in Himachal

The bitter fight between the rulings Congress and the BJP on Wednesday shifted to Raj Bhawan after the Himachal Pradesh Assembly was abruptly adjourned sine die and the rival parties blamed each other for impasse in the House.

Birender Singh meets Shah amid speculation of joining BJP

On a day when Haryana Power Minister Ajay Yadav quit the Hooda government, senior party leader from the state Birender Singh today held a closed-door meeting with BJP President Amit Shah here, amid speculation that he may join the ruling party ahead of Assembly elections.

Congress ready to contest on all seats if no consensus with NCP: Prithviraj Chavan

Amid an ongoing tussle with long-time ally NCP on seat sharing, Maharashtra Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan on Thursday warned that his party Congress will contest on all seats if there is no consensus with Sharad Pawar`s faction.

Congress will have to take call on continuing alliance: JMM

JMM today said the Congress party leadership will have to decide whether they would continue the prevailing alliance or forge ties with any other political party in the upcoming Assembly election.

Be ready to contest all Assembly seats, Ajit Pawar tells NCP workers

Senior NCP leader and Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar today said decision as to when to hold the meeting on seat-sharing for Maharashtra Assembly polls will be taken after consulting the state Congress chief Manikrao Thakre.

Ashok Chavan put in charge of election strategy for Marathwada

Maharashtra Congress today gave the former Chief Minister Ashok Chavan the responsibility of drawing up Assembly elections strategy for Marathwada region.

Resentment about Sena comes to fore at BJP`s internal meet

Buoyed by the party`s spectacular showing in the Loka Sabha elections, several office-bearers of Maharashtra BJP today said the party must not play second fiddle to alliance partner Shiv Sena in the Assembly elections.

Maharashtra CM blamed by Congress members for LS polls debacle

Prithviraj Chavan came under scathing attack at a meeting of the AICC Committee headed by senior leader AK Antony, with some state leaders telling the high command that the party`s fate would be no better in the Assembly polls.

Assembly polls a different ballgame: RR Patil to Sena-BJP

The last day of the last session of 12th Legislative Assembly of Maharashtra today saw a banter between Home Minister R R Patil and Leader of Opposition Eknath Khadse.

Raj Thackeray to make his electoral debut in assembly polls

After the drubbing his party received in Lok Sabha elections, MNS president Raj Thackeray today announced he and his party would contest the assembly elections in Maharashtra due later this year.

Inspired by BJP`s Modi gambit, MNS may project Raj Thackeray for CM

Leaders of Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) on Thursday said they were in favour of projecting the party president Raj Thackeray as the Chief Ministerial nominee ahead of the coming Assembly elections in Maharashtra.

TDP alleges rigging by YSRCP, demands re-poll in 38 stations

Telugu Desam Party today demanded re-election in at least 38 polling stations across Anantapuram, Chittoor, Kadapa and Nellore districts of Andhra Pradesh, alleging that YSR Congress indulged in booth-capturing and rigging on a massive scale.

All set for polling in Seemandhra on Wednesday

The stage is set for polling in the 25 Lok Sabha and 175 Legislative Assembly constituencies in Seemandhra tomorrow.

MP Assembly sittings decline in last 10 years

The number of sittings of the Madhya Pradesh Assembly has gone down during the last 10 years of BJP government in the state, as compared to those held when the Congress was in power.

Reasons behind Cong`s defeat in MP being examined: Bhuria

Senior leaders of Congress have started looking into the reasons responsible for its defeat in the recent state assembly polls, Madhya Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) president Kantilal Bhuria said here on Saturday.

Lal Thanhawla elected CLP leader in Mizoram

The Mizoram Congress Legislature Party (CLP) on Wednesday formally elected Lal Thanhawla as its leader paving the way for his becoming the state chief minister for the fifth time.