This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Presidential election 2017: Polling as it happened

Parliamentarians and legislators across India began voting on Monday to elect the country's 14th President in what is a direct contest between ruling NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind and opposition-backed Meira Kumar. Prime Minister Narendra Modi was among the first to cast his vote to elect the next president of India.