Bihar Legislative Council bypolls on Sept 11

Bye-election to two Bihar Legislative Council seats, which fell vacant following the resignation of sitting members, will be held on September 11, the Election Commission announced on Tuesday.

JD(U), BJP members clash in Bihar House

Old NDA companions JD(U) and BJP clashed in Bihar Legislative Council Thursday with members of the two rival parties shoving and pushing each other in the presence of the parties` leaders Nitish Kumar and Sushil Kumar Modi.

TRS wins Legislative Council chairman`s post; Congress-TDP boycott election

Telangana Rashtra Samiti`s Swami Goud was Wednesday elected as the Chairman of the Telangana Legislative Council amid acrimonious scenes and boycott of the election by Congress and Telugu Desam Party members.

BSP members walkout from UP Council

Enraged over the issue of inclusion of 17 backward castes into the Scheduled Caste category by the Uttar Pradesh government, opposition BSP members Tuesday staged a walkout from the Vidhan Parishad, asking why it was not done so far.

Nine MLCs including five from Congress join TRS: Telangana

Nine members of Legislative Council -- including five from Congress and two from TDP -- in Telangana today crossed over to TRS, boosting the strength of the ruling party in the upper house.

UP Legislative Council briefly adjourned over law and order

The Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council was on Monday briefly adjourned following uproar by Opposition over prevailing law and order situation in the state.

UP Legislative Council adjourned thrice amidst uproar by Opposition

Opposition members on Friday created a ruckus in Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council for the second consecutive day on law and order, power crisis and other issues, forcing the chair to adjourn the house three times.

UP Legislative Council adjourned thrice amidst uproar by Oppn

Opposition members today created a ruckus in Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council for the second consecutive day on law and order, power crisis and other issues, forcing the chair to adjourn the house three times.

Congress to contest biennial election of Maha Council

Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) Thursday decided to contest the biennial elections to the Legislative Council from five graduate and teacher constituencies, where the term of sitting MLCs will expire on July 19.

Standing Committee to ask for permanent legislative councils

A Parliamentary panel is mulling to recommend the Centre to make the state Legislative Councils permanent bodies and bring a constitutional amendment bill in this regard.

Cabinet nod for Legislative Council in Assam

Assam is set to get a legislative council nearly 66 years after it was abolished, post Independence.

Maharashtra BJP yet to find candidate for Council poll

Maharashtra BJP is yet to find a suitable candidate for the election to the Legislative Council seat.

Maharashtra Legislative Council bypoll on September 2

Bypoll to a State Legislative Council seat in Maharashtra will be held on September 2, the Election Commission on Monday announced.

Bedlam continues in UP Legislative Council

BSP members continued to disrupt proceedings in UP Legislative Council over the reported incident in Etawah district.

Agra scholar`s killing: Issue taken up in Legislative Council

The BSP members alleged that since the SP had come to power there was anarchy in the state and law and order has deteroriated.

J&K govt to cancel non-state subject voters, PDP MLC walks out

Blaming Jammu and Kashmir government for its attempt to shield the entry of non-state residents in the electoral rolls of the state, PDP legislator staged walkout from Legislative Council in protest.

NC, Congress bag 4 seats, PDP gets one in J&K LC elections

National Conference and Congress bagged four out of five seats and one went to PDP in the biennial election to the Legislative Council of J&K.

Legislative Council polls: Voters defy terror threats, harsh weather

A turn-out of over 92 percent was recorded in the Jammu region till 4 pm, with the militancy-infested areas registering 96 percent voting, officials said.

BJP starts campaign for legislative council polls in J&K

The BJP on Monday sought to mobilise support of panchayat representatives in favour of party candidates for the upcoming election for Legislative Council from the panchayat quota.

SP nominee Nawab elected unopposed to Legislative

Ruling Samajwadi Party nominee Bukkal Nawab has been elected unopposed to the state Legislative Council on the seat which fell vacant after the resignation of BSP supremo and former Chief minister Mayawati.