Par panel to consider suggestions on Torture Bill

The differences over definition
of `torture` and the provision of monetary compensation for
victims are some of the issues that a Parliamentary panel will
seek to hammer out.

Ashwani Kumar to head select committee to examine torture bill

Senior Congress MP Ashwani Kumar
will head the Select Committee of Rajya Sabha to scrutinise the Prevention of Torture Bill, 2010.

RS refers Torture bill to Select Committee

The Rajya Sabha today
referred the Prevention of Torture Bill 2010 to a Select
Committee of Parliament.