The boulevard of Wimbledon’s History
HOME|NEWS|India at Wimbledon|History|Rankings|Seedings|Photo gallery|Near Misses|Trivia

The boulevard of Wimbledon’s History

Updated on Thursday, June 16, 2011, 15:25
Translate into:

The oldest major tennis championship on earth, The Championships or Wimbledon has come to personify performances par excellence from the greats of the game. It was on the centre court of this cream of the crop tournament that greats like William Renshaw, Pete Sampras, Bjorn Borg, Helen Wills and Martina Navratilova have attained immortality.

The history of the tournament dates back to 1877. Spencer Gore won the first event, which was then the Gentlemen`s Singles, from a field of 22.

The names Bjorn Borg, Jimmy Connors, Rod Laver John McEnroe and Pete Sampras have one thing in common apart from being legends of the game. They were all Wimbledon’s conquerors.

The All England Lawn Tennis Club, the official hosts of the Grand Slam event have made sure that the pristine nature of the tournament remains unchanged, yet congregates the modern nature of the sport with the changing times. The introduction of ‘Wild Card’ entry to the championships was done with public interest in mind. Needless to say, it was the wild card Goran Ivanisevic who won the trophy in 2001 after being runner-up in 1992, 94 and 98. It was the Club’s far-sightedness that gave this player a chance at redemption.

The tournament introduced Ladies’ Singles in 1884 and this was a maverick change that brought in hoards of spectators to the courts.

Rod Laver was the first ever winner of the Gentlemen’s single of the Open Era and Billie Jean King of the women’s single in 1968.

Among the many noteworthy things that have been done for the game is its continuance even in the Second World War. It was a decision that was stern and the staff was short. Despite the odds, the sport of tennis emerged unscathed and added another chapter to the already glorious history.

Wimbledon is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments – the other three Majors are the Australian Open, French Open and US Open. At present it includes five main events, four junior events and four invitation events.

A total of 128 players feature in each singles event, 64 pairs in each single-sex doubles event, and 48 pairs in Mixed Doubles.

The matches take place over 19 courts. Out of these, two main courts- Centre court and Court No.1 are mainly used for the Championship with the remaining ones used regularly for other events throughout the year.

Following are the list of Men’s and Women’s singles winners of past decade.

Men’s singles

2000 -Pete Sampras
2001 -Goran Ivaniševic
2002 -Lleyton Hewitt
2003 -Roger Federer
2004 -Roger Federer
2005 -Roger Federer
2006 -Roger Federer
2007 -Roger Federer
2008 -Rafael Nadal
2009 -Roger Federer
2010 -Rafael Nadal

Women’s singles

2000 -Venus Williams
2001 -Venus Williams
2002 -Serena Williams
2003 -Serena Williams
2004 -Maria Sharapova
2005 -Venus Williams
2006 -Amélie Mauresmo
2007 -Venus Williams
2008 - Venus Williams
2009 -Serena Williams
2010 - Serena Williams

Post Comment a | a moderator Alert Moderator
Your comment(s) on this article
Print this page s E-Mail Bookmark and Share
Post Comment
The views represented here are not neccesarily endorsed by and its allied websites. All messages will be moderated and no message that has inflammatory, abusive, derogatory language or any language deemed unfit for publication by the editor will be displayed. Though it will be endeavoured that as many messages as possible be displayed, there will be time lag between the submission and publication of the messages. The website reserves the right to publish or reject any message.
Latest News More News ..»
Djokovic confirmed as world number one
Sania-Vesnina World No. 2 after Wimbledon
`Petra could be the next great left-hander`
Top dog Djokovic living the dream
Toughest loss? Definitely not, says Nadal
Nadal fears he will never take Federer’s place
Bhupati- Vesnina lose mixed doubles final
The fourth seed Indo-Russian pair of Mahesh Bhupati and Elena Vesnina lost the Wimbledon mixed doubles final to the ninth seed pair of Jurgen Melzer and Iveta Benesova in straight sets, 6-3, 6-2.
Bhupati-eying 12th Grand slam title
Bhupathi-Vesnina into mixed doubles final
More News »
Rank Player
1 Rafael Nadal (ESP)
2 Novak Djokovic (SRB)
3 Roger Federer (SRB)
4 Andy Murray (GBR)
5 Robin Soderling (SWE)
6 Tomas Berdych (CZE)
7 David Ferrer (ESP)
8 Andy Roddick (USA)
9 Gael Monfils (FRA)
10 Mardy Fish (USA)
Rank Player
1 Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)
2 Kim Clijsters (BEL)
3 Vera Zvonareva (RUS)
4 Na Li (CHN)
5 Victoria Azarenka (BLR)
6 Maria Sharapova (RUS)
7 Francesca Schiavone (ITA)
8 Petra Kvitova (USA)
9 Marion Bartoli (FRA)
10 Samantha Stosur (AUS)

Contact Us : Privacy Policy : Legal Disclaimer : SMS to 57575 : Register : On The Channel : Jobs With Us
Copyright © Zee News Limited. All rights reserved.