Feroz Shah Kotla (Delhi)

Feroz Shah Kotla is Delhi's foremost cricket stadium.

Capacity: 55,000

Feroz Shah Kotla is Delhi's foremost cricket stadium. It is run by Delhi & Districts Cricket Association (DDCA) and is located on Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg

1948-49 season witnessed the first Test at this venue when West Indies played India as part of a five-match series.

One of world cricket's greatest achievements was registered at the Kotla when Anil Kumble scalped 10 wickets in a single innings against Pakistan.

The wicket at this ground has helped produce some memorable performances from Indian spinners. S Venkataraghavan, in 1965, spun a web around New Zealand on his Test debut with figures of 8 for 72 and 4 for 80.

Two of India's legendary spinners, Bishan Singh Bedi and Erapalli Prasanna led India to a win over the mighty Aussies when they picked up a combined 18-wicket haul in 1969-70.

Two famous opening batsmen also reached significant career milestones on this ground. Sunil Gavaskar scored his 29th Test ton to equal Sir Don Bradman's record of most Test hundreds, while England's Geoff Boycott went past Gary Sobers' world record Test aggregate here.

The ground was witness to yet another astounding batting feat when Sachin Tendulkar, on scoring his 35th hundred, went passed Gavaskar's record of most Test centuries in 2005-06.

Ever since an ODI between India and Sri Lanka was abandoned due to a dangerous pitch in 2009, the future of this stadium as an international venue has been under doubt.

Delhi Daredevils, who have struggled of late in the Indian Premier League, would be hoping Feroz Shah Kotla will bring them luck in the 2015 edition of the tournament.