News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Delhi Daredevils

Last Updated: Wednesday, April 5, 2017 11:42 AM IST

Despite ample artillery in their account, the Daredevils have repeatedly failed to strike the bull's eye in their nine attempts in the cash-rich league. 2012 was the season when they were at their best, finishing at the top of the league. They, however, failed to inscribe their name on the trophy regardless of two golden opportunities in the play-off round.

At the IPL auction last month, the team roped in few young Indian players, two pacers - Kagiso Rabada and Pat Cummins along with the experienced Angelo Mathews. However, just before the season could kick-off, the Daredevils squad faced a major blow with South African duo JP Duminy and Quinton de Kock pulling off from the 10th edition of the season.

Under the watchful eyes of Rahul Dravid and Paddy Upton, the team would be hoping to put a stellar show in the new season.

Captain: Zaheer Khan

Coach: Paddy Upton and Rahul Dravid

Best performance: 2012 play offs and semi-finalist in 2008 and 2009.

Squad: Zaheer Khan, Mohammed Shami, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jayant Yadav, Amit Mishra, Chris Morris, Chama Milind, Shreyas Iyer, Carlos Braithwaite, Pratyush Singh, Karun Nair, Kagiso Rabada, Rishabh Pant, Angelo Matthews, Sanju Samson, Aditya Tare, Syed Khaleel Ahmed, Corey Anderson, Sam Billings, Pat Cummins, M Ashwin, Shashank Singh, Ankeet Bawne, Navdeep Saini.

Players to watch out for: Kagiso Rabada, Pat Cummins, Mohammed Shami, Chris Morris