News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Bharatiya Janata Party

Bharatiya Janata Party

Bharatiya Janata PartyBJP

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is one of the most prominent political parties in India and is the largest member of the ruling National Democratic Alliance that came to power after the 2014 Lok Sabha election.
Formed by Atal Bihari Vajpayee and LK Advani, both of whom were members of the Bharatiya Jana Sangh before it split in 1980, BJP has managed to increase its influence from the Hindi belt to pan India since the late 1990s. While its first win in Lok Sabha elections came in 1996, the government under Vajpayee could last all of 13 days because it lacked majority. In the next Lok Sabha election – in 1998 – BJP led the NDA to form the government for a year. A year later, Vajpayee led the NDA and formed the government for a full term. From 2004 to 2014, the BJP was the principal opposition party to the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance government before roaring back to power in 2014 under Narendra Modi.
The BJP adheres to the ideology of ‘integral humanism’ which was drafted by Deendayal Upadhyaya in 1965. Integral humanism puts an individual at the center of the entire system. The party also places Hindutva high on its list of priorities – along with social conservatism.
BJP gained prominence on the issue of Ram Janmabhoomi movement. It steadily gained ground in states in the Hindi heartland of the country before emerging as the single-largest party in the 1996 Lok Sabha election. Lacking majority, the government under Vajpayee lasted all of 13 days.
BJP would lead the NDA to power in elections two years later with Vajpayee completing a full term in office.
With Narendra Modi at its helm, the party in 2014 registered a landslide victory, winning 282 seats. The journey to here from 2 seats in the 1984 Lok Sabha election was widely hailed even as the party has since managed to make in-roads into states in which it hardly had any presence earlier.