News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

BJP wins big in Gujarat civic elections, bags 47 municipalities, Congress 16

The BJP continued its winning performance in Gujarat by bagging 47 out of 75 municipalities on Monday.

BJP wins big in Gujarat civic elections, bags 47 municipalities, Congress 16

Ahmedabad: Continuing its victory run, the ruling BJP on Monday bagged 47 out of 75 municipalities in the Gujarat civic body polls.

The main opposition, Congress, improved its tally this time by winning 16 municipalities, while the NCP and BSP emerged victorious on one each.

Voting for the 75 municipalities was held on last Saturday and the results were declared today.

"The BJP has won 47 municipalities, the Congress 16, the NCP and BSP one each. While Independent candidates won four municipalities, six others remained hung as no party gained a clear majority," State Election Commissioner Varesh Sinha said while announcing the results.

In December last year, the BJP had registered a sixth straight victory in the Gujarat Assembly polls by winning 99 seats while the Congress secured 77 seats in the 182-member House.

Three of the six municipalities that delivered a hung verdict are Khedbhramaha in Sabarkantha district, Gariadhar in Bhavnagar district and Pardi in Valsad district, where both the BJP and the Congress won 14 seats each.

"Of the total 2,060 seats in these 75 municipalities spread across 24 districts, the BJP won 1,167, Congress 630, NCP 28 and BSP 15 seats. Other small political parties won 18 seats, while Independent candidates emerged winners on 202 seats," Sinha said.

The vote-counting process was peaceful, he added.

In Prime Minister Narendra Modi's hometown Vadnagar in Mehsana district, the BJP won 27 of the 28 seats, while the remaining seat went to the Congress.

As the results were declared, BJP workers started celebrating at the party headquarters in Gandhinagar.

However, the Congress said the party had improved its tally in the civic body polls.

"This is a victory against the negative politics and programmes of the Congress. The people of Gujarat have once again rejected the negativity that the Congress is generating," BJP spokesperson Bharat Pandya said.

Congress leader Alpesh Thakor said the party had improved its tally substantially.

"The Congress held eight municipalities earlier. We have improved our tally substantially. We are going to have Congress presidents in 20 municipalities with the support of Independent candidates," he said.  

Here are the highlights of the Gujarat civic election results:-

#BJP wins 47 out of 75 municipalities in the Gujarat civic body polls.

#Congress wins 16 municipalities.

#NCP, BSP emerged victorious on one each.

#Independent candidates win in four municipalities: State EC

#Out of total 2,060 seats in 75 municipalities spread across 24 districts, BJP won 1,167, Congress 630, NCP 28 and BSP 15 seats.

# The municipalities where the BJP has either won or leading are Jafrabad, Vadnagar, Jasdan, Vijaynagar, Sanand, Talaja, Halvad, Bantva, Kodinar, Lathi, Kheralu, Karamsad, Songadh, Bavla, Mansa, Dwarka, Bhanvad, Kutiyana, Chalala, Gadhada, Idar, Prantij, Jamjodhpur, Dhrol, Chhaya, Bilimora, Gariyadhar, Sihor and Lathi.

# The BJP won 27 out of 28 seats at Vadnagar municipality in Gujarat's Mehsana district. Vadnagar is the hometown of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

# The BJP has retained power in Rajkot district's Jasdan municipality by bagging 23 of the 28 seats. In 2013, the BJP had won 20 seats in Jasdan municipality. Notably, the Congress had from the seat in the recently concluded Gujarat Assembly elections.

# The Congress party performed well in Rajula municipality in Amreli district with victory in 27 out of 28 seats. The municipality falls in Rajula Assembly constituency, which was won by the Congress in the Assembly polls.

# The Congress also managed to snatch Salaya municipality in Devbhumi Dwarka district from the BJP.

# The Congress won Manavdar municipality in Junagarh district by bagging 15 seats. The BJP managed to win 12 seats.

# In Ahmedabad, the Congress won 13 while the BJP managed to bag just nine seats out of the 28 seats in Dhandhuka municipality.

# In the Pardi municipality, there was a tie with both the Congress and the BJP winning 14 seats each. There was another tie in Vanthali municipality in Junagadh district with both the parties bagging 12 seats each.


The elections were held on Saturday for 75 Nagar Palikas (municipalities), two district panchayats, 17 talukas and 1400 village panchayats on Saturday. Dahod had recorded the highest voter turnout of 76.67 per cent while Rajkot had the lowest turnout of 50.17 per cent.