News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Gujarat local body polls: Voting underway for 74 municipalities

The voting of the local body polls in Gujarat will begin at 8 am  

Gujarat local body polls: Voting underway for 74 municipalities

Ahmedabad: The voting for 74 nagar palikas  (municipalities) in Gujarat began at 8 am today. The results of these local body polls will be declared on February 19, 2018.

The Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP), which had swept the local elections, winning 107 seats out of total 123 seats in 2016, is eyeing for a second consecutive victory.

The voting will continue till 5 pm on Saturday.

The voting for 522 municipal boards and 1988 seats. A total of 2763 polling stations have been set up out of which 530 booths have been declared sensitive and 95 super-sensitive. Over 15,000 Polling Personnel have been deployed on the field. 

Gujarat State Election Commission(SEC) Dr Varesh Sinha had announced the local body poll schedule on January 23, 2018.

In 2016, BJP had won in two municipalities and one taluka panchayat along with majority seats of various other local bodies. Congress had managed to capture just 16 seats in the local body polls last year. 

As per the final result declared by the Gujarat State Election Commission, BJP had registered a victory in Vapi municipality of Valsad district by capturing 41 out of total 44 seats. Only three seats went to Congress.