HJC-BL to be key factor in Haryana: Bishnoi

The HJC-BL chief said his party and independents will play a key role in formation of the next govt.

Chandigarh: With not a single party reaching
the half-way mark in state Assembly, the Haryana Janhit
Congress (Bhajan Lal) on Thursday said that his party and
independents will play a key role in the formation of the next
government in state.

"I have been receiving fillers for an alliance from both
INLD supremo Om Parkash Chautala and Bhupinder Singh Hooda
(Chief Minister) and those against him," Kuldeep Bishnoi said over phone adding, "My party and independents will play a
key role in the formation of the next government in state."

Stating that he was open to support any political outfit,
Bishnoi said, "I have called a meeting of my party MLAs
tomorrow in Delhi to decide on the future course of action."

HJC-BL after parting ways with the Congress was
unsuccessful to forge a pre-poll alliance with the BSP and
later with the BJP on seat sharing.

Of the total 90 assembly constituencies, HJC(BL) fielded
87 candidates out of which six emerged victorious.

Bishnoi himself won from Adampur seat, while his mother
Jasma Devi was unlucky as she lost to Congress nominee Sampat
Singh from Nalwa constituency.

In the final results, where Congress could muster only 40
seats, Indian National Lok Dal surprised everyone by bagging
31 seats and BJP four, the key to formation of government
other than the Congress is in the hands of HJC BL, sources in
HJC said.

"Both the Congress and INLD will leave no stone unturned
to poach the independents (whose strength has come down from
10 in 2005 to seven in this poll), as their support will be a
deciding factor in the government formation," a HJC leader

Shiromani Akali Dal, which made its electoral debut in
the state also bagged a Vidhan Sabha seat with Charanjit Singh
Rori winning Kalanwali seat defeating Sushil Kumar Indora who
had deserted INLD ahead of polls and contested on Congress

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati`s BSP continued
with its dismal show, as it could register a win on a solitary
seat of Jagadhari. In the 2005 Assembly polls, the BSP had
just one seat in its kitty.

The BJP may have succeeded in doubling its tally from
two to four in this elections, but the party continued with
poor show as it fielded its candidates on all the 90 seats.

On eight assembly seats the saffron party finished at
the second spot. State BJP chief Krishan Pal Gujjar was among
the prominent winner from the party from Tigaon seat.

Left parties CPI(M) and CPI, which had fielded candidates
on 11 and eight seats respectively failed to open their
account in the state.

The Nationalist Congress Party and Lalu Parsad Yadav`s
RJD also tried their luck on 38 and three seats respectively
but were unsuccessful in their efforts.

Bureau Report