Meghalaya Assembly election results 2018: As it happened

The National People`s Party (NPP) has bagged 19 seats in Meghalaya Assembly elections. 

By Zee Media Bureau | Last Updated: Saturday, March 3, 2018 - 20:40

Shillong: The Congress party won 21 seats in Meghalaya Assembly elections, while the National People`s Party (NPP) bagged 19 seats.

Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma won from both Ampati and Songsak constituencies, in Assembly elections. Sangma, who contested the election from both constituencies, won by a comfortable margin of over 8000 votes in Ampati, while in Songsak, he registered a victory by about 2000 votes.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won two seats.

3 March 2018, 20:30 PM

3 March 2018, 17:01 PM

Final party position for Meghalaya Assembly election (total seats 59):

Congress 21, NPP 19, UDP 6, PDF 4, BJP 2, HSPDP 2, KHNAM 1, NCP 1 and IND 3.

3 March 2018, 16:02 PM

Congress leads in 21 seats, NPP in 19, others bag 11 seats, BJP gets 2 seats, UDP wins 6 seats  

3 March 2018, 12:53 PM

I will be supporting any party that works for the welfare of the people of state: SK Sunn, Independent candidate who won from Mawphlang constituency in Meghalaya

3 March 2018, 12:05 PM

3 March 2018, 11:46 AM

Seems like the state is headed for a hung assembly, Congress is leading in 21 seats while the NPP is ahead in 14.

3 March 2018, 11:40 AM

UP CM Yogi Adityanath: BJP is all set for a historic win in #Tripura, I would like to congratulate PM Narendra Modi, Amit Shah and our party workers. Our performance in Meghalaya and Nagaland is also historic.

3 March 2018, 11:06 AM

Congress candidate Mazel Ampareen Lyngdoh is leading by over 6000 votes in East Shillong against Bharatiya Janata Party's Neil Antonio War

3 March 2018, 11:04 AM

Chief Minister Dr. Mukul Sangma is leading by 797 votes in Ampati constituency against Bakul ch. Hajong of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

3 March 2018, 10:44 AM

Official results by Election Commission so far:

3 March 2018, 10:42 AM

Official results by Election Commission so far:

3 March 2018, 10:42 AM

Official results by Election Commission so far:


3 March 2018, 10:42 AM

Official results by Election Commission so far:


3 March 2018, 10:40 AM

Official Election results so far:

3 March 2018, 10:37 AM

As per the official Election Commission trends, Congress is leading in 17, NPP in 10, UDP in 6 seats

3 March 2018, 10:26 AM

Kiren Rijiju: I am hopeful that the BJP alliance will be successful in making its government in all the three states- Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura. The trends in all three states point to a new political direction, it will have an effect on national politics as well.

3 March 2018, 10:04 AM

BJP's Sanbor Shullai is leading in Shillong South; NPP's Sounder Strong Cajee is trailing

3 March 2018, 09:58 AM

Congress is surging ahead, leading in 21 seats while the NPP is now rallying behind with leads in 11 seats

3 March 2018, 09:01 AM

As of now, of the 27 seats, the leads are: BJP+ 4, Congress 7, UDP 1, NPP 11, others 4

3 March 2018, 08:53 AM

3 March 2018, 08:52 AM

Chief Minister Mukul Sangma leads as per early trends in Meghalaya

3 March 2018, 08:46 AM

Of the 59 seats where counting is underway, trends in 17 seats show BJP and Congress winning in 4 seats each, others are winning in 9 seats

3 March 2018, 08:39 AM

3 March 2018, 08:37 AM

As per the early trends, Congress and BJP are going neck and neck. Both parties are leading in three seats each.

3 March 2018, 08:30 AM

Trends begin to come in, the Congress has taken a lead in one seat

3 March 2018, 08:23 AM

BJP leader Subramanian Swamy: We will gain tremendously in Meghalaya. The polls were polarised between Christians and non-Christians, and it is unfortunate that Congress used the communal card there.

3 March 2018, 08:20 AM

3 March 2018, 08:01 AM

Counting begins for 59 seats in Meghalaya Assembly elections

3 March 2018, 07:41 AM

The voter turnout for February 27 elections was recorded to be 74.62 percent. Out of 60 seats, the polls were conducted for 59 seats as the election was postponed in one assembly seat because a Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate was killed.

3 March 2018, 07:40 AM

Out of three exit polls, no one has predicted clear-cut majority for the Congress party in the 60-member Meghalaya Assembly. At least 30 seats are required by a political party or an alliance to form the government. In the last assembly polls in 2013, the Congress Party won 29 seats.

3 March 2018, 07:40 AM

The polling was for the 60-seat Meghalaya Assembly was held on February 27. Of the 60 Assembly seats in Meghalaya, as many as 55 seats in the state are reserved for Scheduled Tribes.