Monsoon Session of Parliament, Day 1: Live updates

PM Modi said discussions in Parliament will benefit the country and will also help the government in their decision-making process. 

By Zee Media Bureau | Last Updated: Wednesday, July 18, 2018 - 14:22

NEW DELHI: As the government prepares to get key bills passed in the Monsoon Session of Parliament, the Congress, backed by several Opposition parties, moved a no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government-led government. The Monsoon Session, which concludes on August 10, will have 18 sittings amid much-expected drama in both the houses - Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha.

Ahead of the session, PM Modi said that discussions in Parliament will benefit the country and will also help the government in their decision-making process. "I hope that all parties will use the important time of the Parliament cooperating with each other. I hope we present high inspiration to state assemblies with their high performance. Government is ready for every discussion," he said.

Union Minister Ananth Kumar had earlier said that an all-party meeting chaired by PM Modi on Tuesday night for smoothing functioning of the session received a "positive" outcome, according to

Follow live updates of Day 1 of Monsoon session here: 

18 July 2018, 13:50 PM

Discussion on the No confidence motion moved by the opposition will take place in Lok Sabha on Friday.

18 July 2018, 12:17 PM

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan accepts the No Confidence Motion moved by Opposition parties, including Congress and TDP.

18 July 2018, 12:16 PM

Nominated Rajya Sabha MP boxer MC Mary Kom arrived at Parliament earlier today for the Monsoon Session of Parliament.

18 July 2018, 11:55 AM

Samajwadi Party and Telugu Desam Party MPs protest in the well of Lok Sabha over various issues including mob lynching and demand for special status for Andhra Pradesh. 

18 July 2018, 11:54 AM

Congress MP Jyotiraditya Scindia moves no-confidence motion against government in Lok Sabha, says the government led farmers to commit suicide and under their regime, women are being raped every day.

18 July 2018, 11:41 AM

Rajya Sabha adjourned till 12 noon after protest by TDP MPs over special status demand for Andhra Pradesh. 

18 July 2018, 11:32 AM

Opposition members in Lok Sabha are raising slogans in Lok Sabha over the recent cases of mob lynching. The protest comes a day after the Supreme Court on Tuesday made the Centre and the state governments accountable for mob violence and lynching and asked them to take steps to curb and stop the dissemination of irresponsible and explosive messages and videos on social media platforms.

18 July 2018, 11:15 AM

Bill for introduction in Rajya Sabha:
* The National Trust for Welfare of Persons with Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Mental Retardation and Mutliple Disabilities (Amendment) Bill 2018

Bill for Withdrawal in Rajya Sabha:
* The Armed Forces Tribunal (Amendment) Bill 2012

Bill for Consideration and Passing in Rajya Sabha:
*The State Banks (Repeal and Amendment) Bill 2017
* The Requisitioning and Acquisition of Immovable Property (Amendment) Bill, 2017

18 July 2018, 11:14 AM

List of Bills to be introduced in Lok Sabha today:
*The Trafficking of Persons (Prevention, Protection and Rehabhilitation) Bill, 2018
*The Banning of Unregulated Deposit Schemes Bill, 2018
*The Airports Economic Regulatory Authority of India (Amendment) Bill, 2018
*The Arbitration and Conciliation (Amednement) Bill, 2018

List of Bills for consideration and passing in Lok Sabha today:
* The Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education (Second Amendment) Bill, 2017
* The Fugitive Economic Offenders Bill, 2018

18 July 2018, 11:12 AM

Monsoon Session of Parliament begins, classical dancer Sonal Mansingh, author Rakesh Sinha and sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra take oath as nominated members of the Rajya Sabha.

18 July 2018, 11:04 AM

External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj and Home Minister Rajnath Singh arrive in Parliament for the session.

18 July 2018, 11:03 AM

The demand for a special status for Andhra Pradesh that rocked the last Parliament session is likely to create uproar in the current session too. Ahead of the first day of Parliament session, YSR Congress MPs protested at the Gandhi statue seeking a special status for the state. 

18 July 2018, 11:01 AM

Ahead of the commencement of the session, PM Modi said many important decisions in the nation's interest will be taken up in Parliament. "We hope for good suggestions and discussions from all experienced members," he said.

18 July 2018, 11:00 AM

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) - on Tuesday submitted a notice for a no-trust motion against the Modi government. The party led by N Chandrababu Naidu urged the Lok Sabha Secretary General to include the no-trust motion in the list of business for the day.

18 July 2018, 10:59 AM

The Congress, backed by several Opposition parties, is likely to bring a no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government-led BJP government at the Centre today. West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress has given Zero Hour notice in Rajya Sabha over several incidents of mob lynching seeking a debate on the same.