News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

History of Karnataka Assembly Elections: From 1972 to 2018

Karnataka polls 2018 on May 12, counting on May 15

History of Karnataka Assembly Elections: From 1972 to 2018

Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 will be held in a single phase on May 12. The results will be declared on May 15. The tenure of the current house will end on May 28, 2018. A high-pitched campaign battle is already underway in the state with both the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress trying to pull a victory before the impending Lok Sabha elections in 2019.

Karnataka elections 2018 live updates: Election Commission announces poll dates

Here's a quick look at the history of Karnataka elections since 1972:


Karnataka Legislative Assembly election 2013

Congress emerged as the single largest party in the elections winning 122 seats, nine more than the majority mark. Siddaramaiah became the Chief Minister, with Congress forming the government after nine long years.

The polls were held on May 5, 2013.

Poll results:

Indian National Congress: 122 seats

Janata Dal (Secular): 40

Bharatiya Janata Party: 40

Karnataka Janata Paksha: 6

Independents: 9

Badagara Shramika Raitala Congress: 4

Samajwadi Party: 1

Karnataka Makkala Paksha: 1


Karnataka Legislative Assembly election 2008

For the first time in the history of Karnataka, the BJP formed the government after winning 110 seats. Falling short of the majority by just three seats, the party formed an alliance with six independent candidates.

The polls took place in three phases on May 10, May 16 and May 22, 2008.

BS Yeddyurappa became the Chief Minister but had to later resign in 2011 over corruption charges. He was succeeded by DV Sadananda Gowda (2011 to 2012 and later by Jagadish Shettar (2012 – 2013).

Poll results:

Bharatiya Janata Party: 110

Indian National Congress: 80

Janata Dal (Secular): 28

Others: 6


Karnataka Legislative Assembly elections 2004

For the time in 2004, the state witnessed a coalition government after no party managed to secure the majority mark. Despite BJP emerging as the single largest party, Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) formed the coalition government.

The polls took place in two phases on 20 April and 26 April 2004

Dharam Singh was state chief minister till 2006. Following the collapse of the Coalition government, HD Kumaraswamy took over. He too had to resign over corruption charges, when the President's rule kicked in for more than 30 days. Yeddyurappa took over the chief minister's mantle in 2007 for just seven days, when the President's rule was once again enforced for 189 days till the next elections were held.


Poll results:

Bharatiya Janata Party: 79

Congress: 65

Janata Dal (Secular): 58

Janata Dal (United): 5

Others: 17


Karnataka Legislative Assembly election 1999

Congress formed the government after securing 132 seats with SM Krishna becoming the Chief Minister. The polls were held in October 1999.

Poll results:

Indian National Congress: 132

Bharatiya Janata Party: 44

Janata Dal (United): 18

Janata Dal (Secular): 10


Karnataka Legislative Assembly election 1994

The Janata Dal became the single largest party, winning 115 seats. HD Deve Gowda became the chief minister from December 11, 1994 – May 31, 1996. He was succeeded by JH Patel who was in power May 31, 1996 – October 7, 1999.

Poll results

Janata Dal: 221

Bharatiya Janata Party: 40

Indian National Congress: 34

Others: 35


Karnataka Legislative Assembly election 1985

The Janata Dal party won 139 seats with forming the government. Ramakrishna Hegde became the Chief Minister. In August 1988, SR Bommai the succeeded as the Chief Minister.

Poll results:
Janata Party: 139
Indian National Congress: 65
Communist Party of India: 3
Bharatiya Janata Party: 2
Communist Party of India (Marxist): 2
Independents: 13


Karnataka Legislative Assembly election 1983

The Janata Party emerged as the single largest party winning 95 seats. Ramakrishna Hegde formed the first non-Congress government. 

Karnataka Legislative Assembly election 1978

In 1978, Congress (Indira) faction won the 149 seats, with Devaraj Urs becoming the Chief minister. 


Karnataka Legislative Assembly election 1972

D. Devaraj Urs became the Chief Minister after Congress (Indira) won the election.