News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Karnataka elections 2018 live updates: Voting on 12 May, Counting on 15 May

The last state elections in Karnataka were held in the first week of May in 2013. 

Last Updated: Tuesday, March 27, 2018 - 11:33

The Election Commission has announced the polling dates for the 224-member Karnataka assembly. The voting for the elections will be held on 12 May, 2018 and counting will be held on 15 May, 2018. The last state elections were held in the first week of May in 2013. While the Congress is aiming to retain the assembly, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is putting all its might to get the state into its kitty. If BJP manages to form its government in Karnataka, it will be in power on its own or in an alliance in 22 states. Currently, Punjab and Karnataka are two big states apart from Mizoram which are ruled by the Congress.

27 March 2018, 11:35 AM

"It will be investigated. Be assured that actions legally and administratively befitting will be taken," Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat added on Amit Malviya tweet. Soon after the official dates were announced, Malviya deleted his tweet. As per his tweet, the voting was to be held on 12 May and counting on May 18. While he got the voting date correct, his information about the counting date was wrong. 

27 March 2018, 11:33 AM

Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat said that certain things may have leaked for which the Commission will take appropriate action. There was chaos at the press conference after BJP's IT Cell head Amit Malviya had put out dates of Karnataka elections on social media even before the official announcement.

27 March 2018, 11:24 AM

Karnataka elections will be held in a single phase

Issue of notification: 17 April, 2018
Last date of filing nomination: 24 April, 2018 
Date of scrutiny: 25 April 2018
Last date of withdrawal of candidature: 27 April 

Voting Date: 12 May
Counting date: 15 May

27 March 2018, 11:21 AM

Chaos at the EC press conference as questions being asked over how election dates have been leaked in Karnataka ahead of the official announcement. 

27 March 2018, 11:19 AM

CEC appeals to media to highlight violation of model code of conduct or any wrongdoing by candidates and parties.

27 March 2018, 11:18 AM

Systematic education programme for the voters has been in place. Work has also been done to motivate people to come out and vote. Efforts are on to increase participation of voters since the last elections: EC 

27 March 2018, 11:15 AM

Sealing of expenditure is Rs 28 lakh in Karnataka for political parties. The expenditure at polling booth will also be included in the expenditure of the candidates: EC

27 March 2018, 11:13 AM

Voters of weaker sections will be given full protection to ensure they are able to vote in a fair manner: EC


27 March 2018, 11:12 AM

Since there have been some offences in the last elections, CRPF will be deployed to maintain law and order across the state. It will be monitored on a regular basis: EC

27 March 2018, 11:11 AM

Model code of conduct comes into place immediately after the announcement of the poll dates. This will be applicable across the state and also for the Union government: EC

27 March 2018, 11:09 AM

Special arrangements are being made for women. 450 polling stations will be managed by women: EC

27 March 2018, 11:08 AM

Along with the EVMs, VVPATs will be used at all polling centres. Photographs of the candidates will also be attached at the EVMs so that voters do not have any confusion in voting for the candidates: EC

27 March 2018, 11:07 AM

72% population of Karnataka are eligible to vote - 4.96 crore voters. There are 224 seats in Karnataka Assembly: EC

27 March 2018, 11:06 AM

This year the theme of elections is Accessible elections. Voters will be assured at least all minimum facilities at the voting centres: Election Commission

27 March 2018, 11:01 AM

Just ahead of the announcement of the poll dates, the BJP on Tuesday hit out at Rahul Gandhi over his campaigning in Karnataka. The BJP claimed that Rahul is making dubious and opportunistic promises to fulfil anything. 

27 March 2018, 10:48 AM

The BJP is already in power in 21 states:

Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chhattisgarh Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu & Kashmir Jharkhand Madhya Pradesh
Maharashtra Manipur Nagaland
Rajasthan Sikkim Tripura
Uttar Pradesh Uttarakhand Meghalaya

27 March 2018, 10:40 AM

The Karnataka elections hold huge importance for both the Congress and the BJP. Neither of the two parties want to leave any stone unturned to turn the tide in its favour. Congress President Rahul Gandhi has and BJP chief Amit Shah have been campaigning vigorously across the state ahead of the elections.