In pics: Newly-elected MPs enjoy photo op in Parliament

Zee Media Bureau | May 29, 2019, 11:26 AM IST

Newly-elected MPs visit Parliament

Days after the results of the Lok Sabha election 2019 were announced, several newly-elected MPs visited Parliament on Tuesday to collect their ID cards. Some of the first time MPs in the 17th Lok Sabha are cricketer-turned politician Gautam Gambhir, actress-turned-politicians Mimi Chakraborty and Nusrat Jahan, 28-year old Banglore South MP Tejasvi Surya, among several others. In fact, of the BJP's 303 Lok Sabha members who got elected, 131 are first timers and include party President Amit Shah.


Mimi Chakraborty in Parliament

Newly-elected Trinamool Congress (TMC) MP Mimi Chakraborty posted pictures of her in front of Parliament on their first day after being elected as MPs. Mimi, an MP from Jadavpur, posted a photo of her wearing a white shirt, jeans and a pair of sneakers. "And its us again. 1st day at Parliament" she wrote alongside the picture. 


Nusrat Jahan in Parliament

Actress-turned-politician Nusrat Jahan also visited Parliament on Tuesday and took to Twitter to thank the voters who placed their trust in her. The TMC lawmaker from Basirhat, shared her photo on Twitter displaying her identity cards and said, "A new beginning..!! I thank @MamataOfficial and people of my #Basirhat constituency to have belief in me."


Gautam Gambhir in Parliament

East Delhi MP Gautam Gambhir posed for a photograph at Parliament House in New Delhi on Tuesday. 



Ravi Kishan and Sunny Deol in Parliament

BJP leader Ravi Kishan, who won the Lok Sabha elections from Gorakhpur seat, and Sunny Deol, who won from Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat in Parliament. "#Parliament ka pahla din Saath main @sunny paji aur desh ke sabsey badey aur adhbhut neta Shri @narendramodi ji saamney aur unki awaz aur fantastic #speech ek sikh hum sab ke liye," he tweeted.


Tejashvi Surya, elected as an MP from Bangalore South

Tejashvi Surya, elected as an MP from Bangalore South, posted his picture from Central hall of Parliament on the day when PM Narendra Modi addressed his NDA colleagues and staked claim to form governement. Taking to Twitter he said: "What a day! Sitting in famed Central Hall of Parliament & listening to India's epochal man PM @narendramodi. For a youngster like me, his speech was classic lesson in how one must conduct oneself & not get lost in trappings of power. It's difficult to climb, but so easy to slip."


Asaduddin Owaisi in Parliament

All India Majlis-e-Itthadul Muslimeen will have two candidates in Parliament - party chief Asaduddin Owaisi from Hyderabad and Imtiaz Jaleel from Aurangabad in Maharashtra. Overall, Muslim representation in 17th Lok Sabha has increased by five taking the community's tally to 27 from 22 in the outgoing Lok Sabha.


NK Premchandran in Parliament

Newly elected MP from Kollam Lok Sabha constituency NK Premchandran at Parliament House in New Delhi on Tuesday. 

Most Popular