Bengal to have Challenger Series type tournament

Kolkata, Sept 19: Taking a cue from the hugely successful NKP Salve Challenger Trophy of BCCI, the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) will now have a similar tournament for the cricketers of the state before the beginning of the Ranji season.

Meant for the probables for the Ranji Trophy Plate League, the CAB Challenger tournament has been named after SK Acharya.

The Bengal Ranji probables will represent three sides, similar to that of the Challenger Trophy, in the tournament to be held from November 16-26.

The winners will get a prize money of Rs 1.5 lakh, while the Man-of-the-Series and Man-of-the-Match will be richer by Rs 20,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively, said CAB president Jagmohan Dalmiya after a working committee meeting.

The state association also picked the selection committees for the senior, junior and women.

The 1989-90 Ranji Trophy winning captain Sambaran Banerjee has been made the senior selection committee chairman, replacing Arup Bhattacharya. The panel will also have Saradindu Mukherjee, Kalyan Chowdhury and Devan Gandhi.

Former Bengal pacer Barun Burman will be the chief of junior selection committee which will also have Sumit Shome, Farasudullah Khan and Dipankar Sarkar as the other selectors.

Mithu Mukherjee will lead the women`s selection committee which will be expanded shortly, added Dalmiya.

In another decision, the CAB decided to hike the former Bengal first class players` (above 60 years) monthly medical allowance to Rs 1,500 from the existing Rs 1,000.

Bureau Report