Haryana take first-innings lead vs Orissa

Rohtak: Haryana managed to take a slender first innings lead over Orissa before reducing them to 64 for five in their second essay at the end of the second day of their Ranji Trophy Super League Group B match here today.

Replying to Orissa`s first innings score of 175, Haryana were all-out for 202, thereby getting 27-run first innings lead.

And then the hosts went on to leave the visitors struggling at 64 for five at stumps with Biplab Samantray (4) and Subhrajit Sahoo (10) battling it out in the middle.

Earlier, resuming at an overnight total of 75 for four, Haryana got off to a good start with both the not out batsmen -- Hemang Badani, batting on 14 and Sachin Rana on 19, playing with lot of assurance.

Both cautiously avoided risky shots but Rana failed to sustain for long and fell for a well-made 38 off 89 balls studded with three fours.

But a slow but steady Badani continued in the able company of Joginder Sharma (26) before getting dismissed for a 103-ball 31.

Soon even Joginder followed his partner into the pavilion, with Haryana scoreboard reading 155 for seven, still needing another 21 runs to get past Orissa`s first innings score.

However, skipper Amit Mishra (31) and Dhruv Singh (7) made sure that they achieve it to give Haryana an upper hand in this match. Finally, the hosts` innings folded for 202.

Orissa, in their second innings, yet again got off to a disastrous start and could never recover from that position.

The top and middle order returned to the dressing room in no time at all. After getting openers Natraj Behera (6) and Paresh Patel (17) out cheaply, Haryana bowlers also sent back Niranjan Behera (4), Bikas Pati (5) and Govind Poddar (11), leaving Orissa reeling at 53 for five.

While Joginder Sharma (2/11) and Sachin Rana (2/03) accounted for two wickets each, Amit Mishra (1/17) chipped in with one.

Brief Scores:

Orissa 1st innings: 175 all out in 55.4 overs (Subhrajit Sahoo not out 50, Paresh Patel 25; Sachin Rana 3/34, Amit Mishra 3/55).

Haryana 1st innings: 202 all out in 78.4 overs (Sachin Rana 38, Hemang Badani 31, Amit Mishra 31; Alok Sahoo 3/78).

Orissa 2nd innings: 64 for five in 36 overs (Paresh Patel 17; Joginder Sharma 2/11, Sachin Rana 2/03).