Himachal eye upset win over Karnataka

DharmasalaL: Manvinder Bisla and captain Paras Dogra shared an unbeaten 101-run stand after early hiccups as Himachal Pradesh eye an upset victory over Karnataka in their Ranji Trophy Super League Group B match here on Friday.

Chasing 286 runs for victory, wicket-keeper Bisla (54 not out) and Paras Dogra (32 not out) steadied the Himachal ship with a 101-run sixth wicket stand that came of 137 balls after the home team lost half of its side for 52 runs.

At stumps on the penultimate day of the four-day affair, Himachal were 153 for five in 40 overs and still needing 133 runs for an outright win.

Apart from Paras Dogra and Bisla, two other Himachal batsmen -- opener Hemant Dogra (25) and Vinit Indulkar (13) -- managed double figures.

Right-arm pacer Abhimanyu Mithun starred with the ball for Karnataka accounting for three Himachal batsmen giving away 51 runs, while Aditya B Sagar and Sreenath Arvind scalped a wicket each.

Earlier resuming at the overnight score of 73 for four, Karnataka rode on young Manish Pandey’s brilliant 112 to score 230 in their second essay before being bowled out in 71 overs.

Apart from Pandey, no other Karnataka batsmen could pose serious resistance before the Himachal bowlers as overnight batsman Amit Verma (20) departed with out adding a single run to his account and Sunil Joshi (21) and Aditya B Sagar (29) faded out after a start.

Mohinderraj Sharma (4/52) completed a nine-wicket haul in the match as after five in the first innings he added four more victims to his name in the second essay.

He was ably supported by right-arm pacer Rishi Dhawan who also accounted for four Kanataka batsmen while Vikaramjeet Malik picked up two wickets.

Brief Scores:

Karnataka: 254 and 230 (Manish Pandey 112; Mohinderraj Sharma 4/52, Rishi Dhawan 4/40).

Himachal Pradesh: 199 and 153 for five in 40 overs (Manvinder Bisla 54 not out, Paras Dogra 32 not out; Abhimanyu Mithun 3/51).