News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Tiwary named Bengal Ranji captain

Kolkata: Bengal selectors today passed the Ranji captaincy baton to stylish batsman Manoj Tiwary who led the state to four straight wins in the zonal leg of the Syed Mustaq Ali Trophy Twenty20 tournament.

Skipper for the last two seasons, Laxmi Ratan Shukla has also been named in the 15-member side to play against Delhi in their season opener from November 1-4.

Tiwary, 24, who has featured in an ODI against Australia, had a brilliant run in the East Zone leg of the T20 tournament in Cuttack.

"He did well in the T20 and he is talented. We have decided to name him the skipper for the season," chairman of Bengal selection committee Sambaran Banerjee said.

He further said allrounder Shukla is a key member of the side.

"I am sure he will be burden-free after captaincy was taken from him. We want to keep him pressure-free... He is an integral member of our set-up."

Former India captain Sourav Ganguly was not available for selection.

"Ganguly will not play the first two matches, we will see afterwards," Banerjee said.

The squad has two new faces in opening batsman Avishek Chowdhury and medium pacer Mohammad Sami Ahmed.

The Squad

Manoj Tiwary (c), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Arindam Das, Sreevats Goswami, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Anustup Majumder, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Iresh Saxena, Sourashish Lahiri, Ranadeb Bose, Ashok Dinda, Mohammad Sami Ahmed, Shiv Sagar Singh, Arindam Ghosh, Avishek Chowdhury.

Coach: W V Raman, Manager: Naresh Ojha.