News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Eng WC squad: Collingwood retained, Prior in

London: Wicket-keeper Matt Prior has been recalled to England’s squad for next month’s World Cup in the Indian subcontinent.

Prior is the sole wicketkeeper-batsman named in the 15-man squad for the two-month tournament in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

He had been replaced by Steve Davies in the ongoing seven-match ODI series against Australia.

The 28-year-old, who scored a century in the Fifth Ashes Test in Sydney, has so far failed to have the same impact on limited-overs matches for England.

However, the selectors feel that he can still score heavily in the shorter form of the game - as an opener or in the middle order.

Fast bowler Ajmal Shahzad has been given the nod above Chris Tremlett for his reverse swinging abilities, while the selectors have also retained faith in Luke Wright.

England Squad: Andrew Strauss (captain), Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott, Kevin Pietersen, Eoin Morgan, Matt Prior (wicketkeeper), Paul Collingwood, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy, Graeme Swann, Tredwell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, James Anderson and Ajmal Shahzad.