India Vs Australia, 1st T20: As it Happened

Sydney: Australia, lead by debut captain George Bailey, defeated India in the first T20 by 31 runs .

Live Scorecard: India Vs Australia»

Here is how the match panned out:

Indian innings

20 overs: India could score 140/6 in allotted 20 overs and lost the first T20 International match by 31 runs.

18 overs: Xavier Doherty bowled an excellent over to keep India’s run-rate in check. After 18 overs, India were 124/6. India needed 48 runs from 2 overs.

13.3: Ravindra Jadeja fell for 7. India were 81/6.

11.3 overs: Suresh Raina’s innings came to an end as he was bowled by Dan Christian for 14 off 15 balls. India were 72/5 and staring at another defeat.

10 overs: After the half-way mark (10 overs), India were tottering at 66/4 with Dhoni and Raina remaining unbeaten on 4 and 11, respectively.

7.1 overs: Rohit Sharma became India’s wicket number 4 as he was bowled by David Hussey for a first-ball-duck.

6.4 overs: India’s batting woes continued as in-form Virat Kohli got out off comeback spinner 40-year-old Brad Hogg for 21-ball 22 with a six. He was caught beautifully by Warner at mid-wicket boundary.

5.2 overs: Gautam Gambhir also departed for a 14-ball 20 as he tried to play an inside-out shot off David Hussey. Mitchell Marsh caught at cover. When Gambhir fell, India were 47/2.

2.5 overs: Virat Kohli slammed Lee for a six. A clean hit over long-on took India to 27/1.

0.3 overs: Chasing 172 for their maiden victory in the tour so far, India started disastrously, losing their first wicket in the very first over of their innings. Sehwag was removed by Brett Lee for 4. He was caught by Hussey at the first slip.

Australian Innings

20 overs: After the stipulated 20 overs, Australia posted a challenging 171/4. Skipper Gearge Bailey remained not out on 12.

19. 4 overs: Rahul Sharma claimed his first international wicket when he cleaned up David Hussey for 30-ball 42.

15.4 overs: Matthew Wade finally departed for 72 off just 43 balls. Suresh Raina bowled him out with a straight delivery. Wade slammed 5 fours and 3 sixes. Australia were 135/3 when Wade fell.

15 overs: Play resumed but didn`t lose any over owing to rain delay. Score read 132 for 2 at the end of the over.

14.4 overs: Rain came to disrupt the match for the first time. When players left the field, Australia were 131/2 in 14.2 overs with Wade (70*) and Hussey (17*) were cruising along.

14 over: It was one of the costliest over for India as Praveen gave away 18 runs in the 18th over of the match. Wade hit 2 sixes while David Hussey slammed a 4.

12.4 overs: Matthew Wade completed a fine fifty off just 34 balls with 3 fours and a six. He also brought up the hundred for Australia.

9.5 overs: R Ashwin gave India a big breakthrough when he removed Travis Birt for 17. Birt tried to play over the extra-cover, only to be caught by Suresh Raina standing inside the circle. After the half-way mark (10 overs), Australia were 79/2.

8.4 overs: Debutant Rahul Sharma injured his right hand while trying to take a return catch off his own bowling. He left the field. Rohit Sharma then completed the over. After 9 overs, Australia were 74/1.

5.5 overs: Australia had a flying start as they reached the 50-run mark in just 5.5 overs with Matthew Wade going great guns.

3.5 overs: David Warner, who was looking dangerous, departed for an entertaining 14-ball 25 with two sixes and a four. Vinay Kumar, who replaced Ashwin, removed Warner in his very first over.

3 overs: Warner took the attack to the opposition very early with 19 runs coming off Ashwin’s 2nd over. He hit 2 sixes and a four.

0.4 over: Australia started the proceeding with opener David Warner playing off-spinner R Ashwin down to leg-side for a single.

2 pm: India started their bowling with off-spinner R Ashwin bowling the first over of the match.

1.30 pm: India captain MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl first in the 1st of the two T20 matches against Australia.