News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

  • 542/542 TARGET 272
  • BJP+


  • CONG+


  • OTH


Martyn to lead Ahmedabad Rockets in ICL T20

Mumbai, Oct 07: Retired Australian Test batsman Damien Martyn is to lead the newly formed Ahmedabad Rockets team in the Indian Cricket League`s second season that kicks off on October 10.

The Twenty20 event would see nine city based teams, including one from Lahore in Pakistan and the other from Dhaka in Bangladesh, vie for top honours.

The 41 matches would be played in Hyderabad, Panchkula, Gurgaon and Ahmedabad, an ICL media release said.

The other eight teams in fray would be led by Chris Cairns (Chandigarh Lions), Stuart Law (Chennai Superstars), Marvan Atapattu (Delhi Giants), Habuibul Bashar (Dhaka Warriors), Chris Harris (Hyderabad Heroes), Inzamam ul Haq (Lahore Badshahs), Nathan Astle (Mumbai Champs) and Craig McMillan (Royal Bengal Tigers).

New players who have been inducted this season are Hafiz Khaleel, Shahid Yousaf, Tahir Mahmood Mughal (all Lahore Badshahs), Ryan Campbell and Kunal Lal (both Ahmedabad Rockets).

Mornantau (Nantie) Hayward (from Royal Bengal Tigers) has been transferred to Chennai Superstars and Hasan Raza and Taufeeq Umer (both from Lahore Badshahs) have been transferred to Mumbai Champs, the release said.

These additions and transfers were done with the primary objective of optimum utilisation of its (ICLs) talent pool and strengthening the teams in all departments of the game, said ICL s Executive Board chairman Kapil Dev.

Bureau Report