Ajax`s supervisory board resigns

The Hague: The supervisory board of Ajax has decided to resign after months of unrest, the Amsterdam based soccer club said Thursday.

The resignation will take effect in the shortest possible time, once successors are found with broad support, said the club.

The board, consisting of Steven ten Have (chairman), Edgar Davids, Marjan Olfers, Paul Romer and club legend Johan Cruijff, was appointed July 25, Xinhua reported.

The resignation of the five commissioners will be done in phases due to contractual provisions and financial interests of Ajax. Cruijff will probably get an advisory role at the club.