Federation Cup 2013-14 to kickoff on Jan 14 with 16 teams

New Delhi: The Federation Cup football tournament will kick-off simultaneously in Cochin and Manjeri on January 14 next year with 16 teams vying for the top honours.

The sides have been divided into four groups with the winners making it to the semifinals.

Meanwhile, due to the withdrawal of Langsning FC from the Tournament and also the second Division League, the Emergency Committee of the AIFF has decided that Eagles FC from Kerala will replace the former in Group A.

"The decision was taken based on the fact that Eagles FC has fulfilled the Licensing criteria as required; and also to add a local flavour which will significantly improve spectator interest and visibility of the Tournament," the All India Football Federation said in a statement.

While group A and C would play their league matches at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Cochin, group B and D would be played at the MDS Complex, Manjeri.

The semifinals and the final, however, would be played in Kochi on January 25.

The venues are as follows:

Group A and Group C: Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Cochin

Group B and Group D: MDS Complex, Manjeri

Semifinals and Final: Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Cochin.