Harikrishna wins B group of Tata Chess

Wijk Aan Zee: Grandmaster and Asian champion P Harikrishna became only the second Indian to enter the `A` group of Tata Steel Chess Tournament after winning the `B` group with a draw against Dmitry Reinderman of Holland in the final round.

Harikrishna earned himself an entry into the elite `A` group in the 75th edition of the event which will be held in 2013. The Hyderabad-based player becomes the second Indian ever after world champion Anand to enter this group.

D Harika ended her campaign with another loss in the event but Harikrishna`s main rivals were seen ruining themselves in the final round.

Alexander Motylev of Russian had his chances in the previous round game against Harikrishna but coming into the final game, the Russian was a pale shadow of himself.

Harikrishna played solidly with his white pieces to get a level position and a subsequent draw but Motylev was never even close to get a won position.

The other pursuer Erwin L`Ami ended up losing his final game against legendary Dutchman Jan Timman giving an affirmation to the first Indian victory in the `B` Group.

In the `C` group, Maxim Turov of Russia won the title after defeating Etienne Goudriaan of Holland in the final round.

It was a close case as Tania sachdev held Hans Tikkanen of Sweden to a draw and Turov with his ability to score against lower ranked opposition was simply superb yet again.