Sports Ministry approves women team`s participation in Fed Cup

New Delhi: The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports on Monday approved of the participation of the Indian women`s team, led by Sania Mirza, in the Fed Cup Asia Oceania group, to be held in Shenzhen, China from January 30 to February 4.

National champion Rutuja Bhosale, old hand Isha Lakhani, Prerna Bhambri and Sharmada Balu are the other members of the team for the tie.

Rohit Rajpal will be the non-playing captain and Enrico Pepirno the coach. The players will also be accompanied by physiotherapist, Anand Kumar.

This is in accordance with providing foreign exposure to players envisaged under `Operation Excellence-2012` (OPEX-2012) scheme, especially designed for the core probables of London Olympics.

Seven members of the Indian team, except Sania, will leave for China on January 26.

Sania, who is currently playing in the Australian Open, will join the team later.

India were relegated to group II last year after losing all the three round-robin league ties and the play-off rubber to Chinese Taipei.